School of Medicine

Events and Celebrations

Honors & Awards 2022
Pictured from left, Evan Shereck, M.D., M.Ed., professor of pediatrics, Gabrielle Meyers, M.D., adjunct associate professor of medicine, and Peter Sullivan, M.D., professor of medicine, accept their excellence in teaching awards from Tomo Ito, Ed.D., assistant dean for curriculum in the Undergraduate Medical Education Program, at the 2022 Honors & Awards Ceremony.

School of Medicine Honors & Awards Ceremony

The OHSU School of Medicine is made up of outstanding faculty, staff and learners - and our annual events are a chance for us to celebrate their excellence and laud their accomplishments. As Dean David Jacoby said at the 2022 SoM Honors & Awards Ceremony:

“Stories of challenge and triumph, mentorship and partnership, humility and perseverance are all around us in the school.  At this wonderful ceremony, we have the opportunity to recognize members of our teaching faculty for their innovative curriculum, infectious enthusiasm and thoughtful guidance, and students for their outstanding contributions, scholarship and leadership. A theme running through all of their efforts - and those of so many others - is service, a value that is at the foundation of our profession."

Physician Assistant Program Graduation

Dean's Award

This award is given by the Dean of the School of Medicine in recognition of an individual who has shown commitment to the School of Medicine through their volunteerism, teaching, and/or philanthropic support.

2020 - Renee Edwards, M.D., M.B.A.

2017 - Paul Flint, M.D. 

2016 - Frederick T. Fraunfelder, M.D. ’60, R ‘67

2015 - Thomas Heckler, MBA

2014 - Sharon Anderson, M.D. R’ 82

2013 - Robert Hitzeman, Ph.D.

2012 - James B. Reuler, M.D., M.A.C.P. R ’76

2011 - Charles Thomas, M.D.

2010 - Lisa Grill Dodson, M.D. '91

2009 - Susan Hayflick, M.D.

2008 - Edward Keenan, Ph.D.

2007 - Jerris R. Hedges, M.D.

2006 - Scott A. Fields, M.D. R '89

2005 - E. Paul Kirk, M.D.

2004 - Donald C. Houghton, M.D. '72