Program Leadership

David M. Lewinsohn, MD, PhD Program Director

David Lewinsohn

Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, School of Medicine
Molecular Microbiology and Immunology Graduate Program, School of Medicine
Director, OHSU Center for Global Child Health Research, Department of Pediatrics
Adjunct Member,  Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine University of Cape Town

Dr. Lewinsohn was appointed the director of the OHSU MD/PhD program in October 2023. During that time he has overseen a thorough curriculum review, and has made substantial changes to the program including adding MD/PhD specific clerkships. He meets regularly with students on an individual basis and continues his open door mentoring of our students after they've graduated.

Dr. Lewinsohn has had continuous NIH funding since 1997. In his lab he mentors students (undergraduate, MD, MD/PhD, and PhD), post-doctoral fellows, and junior faculty.  His research is focused on how the human system recognizes Mycobacterium tuberculosis, the bacterium that causes Tuberculosis. He as active international collaborations, largely focused in Cape Town, South Africa.  He currently serves as the Director of the NIH funded T32 research training program in lung biology from 2013 to present. He is an active clinician on the Pulmonary Consult Service.

Primary duties in the MD/PhD program include:

  • Program leader
  • School of Medicine leadership liaison
  • Admissions decisions
  • Policy and curriculum development
  • Individual student meetings

Amanda Asbrock, BA, Program Administrator

Amanda was born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada but the PNW is where she feels most at home. She received her B.A. in Communications from University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Amanda started work at OHSU in Molecular and Medical Genetics Department as an administrative assistant supporting credentialing.  In 2021, Amanda moved on to be a Program Coordinator for the Behavioral and Systems Neuroscience Graduate Program supporting PhD students and was able to move into an Education Coordinator for the MD/PhD Program in June of 2022. She loves connecting with people and spending as much time as possible outdoors.

Primary duties in the MD/PhD program include:

  • Prospective applicant assistance and admissions process management
  • Student support
  • Program development and communication
  • Website maintenance (currently delayed)

Associate Director Leadership

Mary Heinricher, PhD

Mary Heinricher, PhD
Professor of Neurological Surgery

Justin Denny, MD, MPH

Justin Denny, MD, MPH
Director, OHSU Global Health in Southeast Asia
Assistant Professor, OHSU-PSU School of Public Health

Peter Sullivan, MD, FACP

Peter Sullivan, MD, FACP
Longitudinal Clinical Clerkship
Associate Professor of Medicine, Division of Hospital Medicine

MD/PhD Longitudinal Clinical Clerkship

Mary Samuels, MD

Mary Samuels, MD
Clinical and Translational Research Experience
Professor, Oregon Clinical & Translational Research Institute

MD/PhD Clinical and Translational Research Experience

MD/PhD Committee 2023-24

Committee Chair

Mary Heinricher, PhD

Student Representatives

Aleksandra Dagunts
Joyce Kim
Landon Bayless-Edwards
Will Yashar

Faculty Members