Division of Pediatric Surgery | Department of Surgery

Mubeen Jafri, M.D., Professor and Head of Pediatric Surgery

Mubeen Jafri, M.D., is the Head of Pediatric Surgery, joining OHSU in September 2011. Dr. Jafri came to Portland after almost a decade of training and research in Cincinnati, Ohio. He completed his General Surgery training at the University of Cincinnati. This was followed by a Pediatric Surgery Fellowship at Cincinnati Children’s Medical Center where he also spent 2 additional years of research in the area of biliary atresia, the most common cause of liver failure requiring transplant in children. His care of these special children that usually require operative intervention in the first few weeks of life helped develop an understanding of the role of pediatric surgery in the care of the most fragile patients.

Since joining the faculty at OHSU, Dr. Jafri has maintained clinical practices at both Randall Children’s and Doernbecher Children’s Hospitals. He has been instrumental in development of the statewide portion of the Pediatric Trauma System leading to ACS Level 1 Trauma Verification of both Children’s Hospitals. He was the inaugural Pediatric Trauma Medical Director at Doernbecher and the current Pediatric Trauma Medical Director at Randall. Dr. Jafri's research interests focus on standardization of pediatric trauma care and disorders of coagulation in injured children including hemorrhage control and venous thromboembolism. These endeavors have been supported with recent competitive grant funding.

Contact us

Mailing Address 
Oregon Health & Science University 
3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Road 
Mail Code: CDW7
Portland, OR 97239

Campus Location
CDRC West 227

Academic Office
(503) 494-7764

Pediatric Surgery Research

Learn more about our pediatric surgery faculty researchers, their focuses and current studies.

Our work

The Pediatric Surgery service at OHSU is a collaborative team of physicians and advanced-practice providers concerned with discovering and evaluating techniques of Pediatric Surgical care. The Division of Pediatric Surgery directs a busy inpatient and outpatient clinical service both at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital at OHSU and Randall Children’s Hospital at Legacy Emanuel.

Our collaborative service utilizes not only the expertise of our OHSU staff but also incorporates the pediatric surgeons of the Legacy and Kaiser systems. Given the collective training experiences from such prestigious children’s hospitals located in Toronto, Montreal, Cincinnati, Columbus, Houston, and Indianapolis, we are able to offer the medical students, residents, and fellows of OHSU a complete and diverse educational experience.

The Pediatric Surgery faculty members have special expertise in such areas as congenital abnormalities, single port surgery, antegrade continence enema, congenital chest wall abnormalities, thoracoscopic repair of congenital diaphragmatic hernia, endoscopy (bronchoscopy, esophagoscopy, peritoneoscopy, and thoracoscopy), surgery for cancerous and noncancerous tumors, trauma surgery and neonatal minimal access surgery.

The Division of Pediatric Surgery proudly follows OHSU’s education tradition by instructing future generations of pediatric surgeons. We offer a 2-year accredited Pediatric Surgery Residency, accepting one resident per year.

Our service performs over 2,000 operations per year. Our faculty is committed to serving this population not only during perioperative time-course but as they grow and develop over the long term. Doernbecher Children’s Hospital and Randall Children’s Hospital are 2 of 56 hospitals participating in Pediatric NSQIP. This database is the only one of its kind, directed at surgical outcomes in the pediatric population.

Doernbecher Children's Hospital Pediatric Surgery

Doernbecher Children's Hospital Fetal Care Program and introduction by Dr. Raphael Sun.

Fellowship opportunities

The Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Program within the OHSU School of Medicine is an ACGME-accredited 2 year program. Learn more about our Pediatric Surgery Fellowship Program and how to apply.

Our Faculty