Mid-Career Clinical Leadership Development Program

Banner image for Mid-Career Clinical Leadership Development Program webpage

The MCCLDP is a year-long, professional development program that is designed to refine leadership skills for mid-career faculty. The program offers participants a concrete set of leadership skills that provide the foundation for success in common leadership positions at an academic health center. MCCLDP seeks to enhance an understanding of personal leadership styles, individual strengths and how these impact working on and leading teams. In addition, the program builds awareness of the resources and intricacies of working effectively within the OHSU system.

During the first half of the MCCLDP, participants will be matched with a senior leader at OHSU who will provide mentorship. During the summer months, participants and their mentors will complete mentor/mentee communication projects.

The program’s teaching faculty includes distinguished faculty from the Division of Management, the Career Workplace Enhancement Center, the Relational Leadership Institute and senior healthcare and School of Medicine leaders.

Classes meet one Friday a month (typically the third Friday) from noon–3 p.m. All classes will be virtual until further notice.

Program Dates: January 22, 2021 to December 17, 2021

Upon completion of this program, learners will be able to:

Develop self-awareness and personal skills to enhance leadership effectiveness

  • Analyze personal leadership and work-styles
  • Appreciate relational dynamics of teams
  • Develop competencies for leading a multicultural team
  • Utilize frameworks to manage differences, address conflict
  • Enrich mentoring and advocacy skills

Develop Organizational Awareness and Skills to Navigate Complex Systems

  • Define mission, vision and value statements
  • View organizational change through a relational lens
  • Align diversity/equity/inclusion work into strategic planning
  • Develop finance literacy, skills for budget management and understanding funds flow
  • Analyze the relationship between the health system and the school of medicine
  • List ways organizations can interact with the communities they serve

The MCCLDP began in January 2020, with 20+ mid-career faculty from the departments of medicine, pediatrics, ophthalmology and anesthesia/perioperative medicine. Due to the success of this initial pilot year, the program opened to all mid-career clinical faculty in the school of medicine.

This program is designed for mid-career (Associate Professor) SoM Clinical Faculty currently in, or moving into, formal leadership roles.

Primary faculty

Niki Steckler, Ph.D., teaching members of the 2020 cohort of the Mid-Career Clinical Leadership Development Program
Niki Steckler, Ph.D., teaching members of the 2020 cohort of the Mid-Career Clinical Leadership Development Program

Andrea Cedfeldt, M.D.
Derick DuVivier, M.D., M.B.A.
Laura Ibsen, M.D.
Kirk Lalwani, M.D., F.R.C.A., M.C.R.
Andrew Morris-Singer, M.D.
Brian Park, M.D., M.P.H.
Leah Reznick, M.D.
Niki Steckler, Ph.D.

Guest faculty

Sharon Anderson, M.D.
Michelle Berlin, M.D.
Dana Braner, M.D., F.A.A.P., F.C.C.M.
Brent Carreau
Renee Edwards, M.D., M.B.A., FACOG, FACS
David Jacoby, M.D., Ph.D.
Leslie Kahl, M.D.
Sancy Leachman, M.D., Ph.D.
Mary Lind
George Mejicano, M.D., M.S.
Allen Metzenber, M.B.A.
David Wilson, M.D.
Atif Zaman, M.D., M.P.H.

Session Dates

January 22
February 19
March 19
April 16
May 21
June 18
July - No session. Mentee/Mentor collaboration.
August - No session. Mentee/Mentor collaboration.
September 17
October 15
November 19
December 17


Program Director

Andrea Cedfeldt, M.D., Assistant Dean, Faculty Development

Administrative Contacts

Kacy Kesecker, Administrative Assistant, Division of Continuing Professional Development

Devon Ritter, Lifelong Learning and Development Specialist, Division of Continuing Professional Development

​​​​​Jennifer Barton, M.D.
Mikelle Bassett, M.D.
Winston Chamberlain, M.D., Ph.D.
James Clements, M.D.
Silvio De Melo, M.D.
Beth Edmunds, M.D., Ph.D.
Julie Graff, M.D.
Kristina Haley, D.O.
Abigail Khan, M.D., M.S.C.E.
Erin Madriago, M.D.
Kim Mauer, M.D.
Michele Noles, M.D.
Elizabeth Pedigo, M.D.
Christopher Pfeiffer, M.D., M.H.S.
Kim Reynolds, Ph.D, A.B.P.P.
Brian Ricci, M.D.
Christopher Slatore, M.D., M.S.
Kamila Vagnerova, M.D.
Jamie Warren, M.D.
Raghav Wusirika, M.D.