About SoM Faculty Development


The Office of Faculty Development advocates for and facilitates ongoing professional development and well-being of all faculty by supporting their pursuit of excellence in teaching, research, personal growth and service.


Through a wide variety of quality programs, all faculty in the OHSU School of Medicine are supported and empowered to achieve their professional and personal goals while flourishing in their communities.

Values and Goals

Life-long learning: Professional development across all domains of faculty development is a life-long process.  Needs will change across a faculty member’s career trajectory.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Embracing and supporting diversity, equity and inclusion gives us the power and knowledge to better serve our community. 

Advocacy: Listening to faculty concerns and initiating responses/programs to meet the needs of faculty.

Collaboration and Teamwork: Valuing and encouraging cooperation and collaboration amongst all faculty to encourage “collective competence.” 

Integrity: Being trustworthy and responsive to faculty needs, committing to maintain confidentiality (when appropriate), and following through with commitments.

Innovation: Cultivating a proactive culture that is supportive of inquiry, discovery, and innovation.

  1. Support and enhance existing longitudinal, cohort-based professional development programs.
  2. Promote a culture of mentorship and coaching.
  3. Continue and expand efforts at prioritizing diversity, equity and inclusion in faculty development.
  4. Set foundation to initiate a robust onboarding program.
  5. Prioritize faculty engagement and well-being.

SoM Faculty Development Staff

Andrea Cedfeldt, M.D.
Associate Dean, Faculty Development

Kacy Kesecker
Administrative Coordinator

Jessica Lasneski
Administrative Coordinator

Devon Ritter
Program Design Specialist

Contact information:

E-Mail: facdev@ohsu.edu

Phone: 503-494-8700

School of Medicine faculty development team in front of the OHSU Auditorium
Office of Faculty Development team and close collaborators.
(Back: Kacy Kesecker; Devon Ritter. Front: Leah Reznick, M.D., Chair, Faculty Advancement and Development Committee; Andrea Cedfeldt, M.D.; Leslie Garcia, M.P.A., Ed.D., Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity & Inclusion)

Faculty Advancement and Development Committee

The School of Medicine's Faculty Advancement and Development Committee works closely with the Office of Faculty Development in pursuit of our shared mission.

Leah Reznick, M.D., Chair
Associate Professor, Ophthalmology

Niki Steckler, Past Chair
Professor, Healthcare Management

Kristin Bowden, DNAP, MBA, CRNA
Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Melissa Buboltz, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry

Kristian Enestvedt, M.D.
Associate Professor, Surgery, Abdominal Organ Transplantation

Catherine Galbraith, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Biomedical Engineering

Elizabeth Haney, M.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine

Jennifer Huang, M.D.
Associate Professor, Pediatrics

Kirk Lalwani, M.D.
Professor, Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Theresa Liao, M.D.
Associate Professor, Medicine

Jen-Jane Liu, M.D.
Associate Professor, Urology

Nicole Marshall, M.D.
Associate Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology

W.H. Andrew Ryu, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Neurological Surgery

Katie Schenning, M.D., M.P.H., M.C.R.
Associate Professor, Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine

Jane Zhu, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Medicine

Nels Carlson, M.D.
Associate Dean, Continuing Professional Development; Professor, Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation

Andrea Cedfeldt, M.D.
Associate Dean, Faculty Development; Professor, Medicine

Leslie Kahl, M.D.
Associate Dean, Strategic Initiatives; Professor, Medicine

Nicole Lockart, M.B.A., B.S.
Senior Associate Dean, Administration; Chief Administrative Officer

Atif Zaman, M.D., M.P.H.
Senior Associate Dean, Clinical and Faculty Affairs; Professor, Medicine