Headshot photo of Eric Gouaux, Ph.D.

Eric Gouaux, Ph.D.

  • Professor, Vollum Institute
  • Senior Scientist, Vollum Institute
  • Jennifer and Bernard Lacroute Endowed Chair in Neuroscience Research, Vollum Institute
  • Neuroscience Graduate Program, School of Medicine
  • Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Graduate Program, School of Medicine
  • Program in Molecular and Cellular Biosciences, School of Medicine


Eric Gouaux completed his B.A. and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry at Harvard University. He remained at Harvard for a year as a postdoctoral fellow before continuing his postdoctoral studies at MIT. In 1993, he was appointed assistant professor at the University of Chicago Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. In 1996, Gouaux joined the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Columbia University as an assistant professor. In 2000, he was appointed Investigator with the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and associate professor with Columbia, reaching full professor the following year. Gouaux came to OHSU in 2005 as a senior scientist at the Vollum Institute, continuing his position with Howard Hughes. In 2015, Gouaux was appointed the Jennifer and Bernard Lacroute Endowed Chair in Neuroscience Research.

The work in the Gouaux Lab is concentrated on developing molecular mechanisms for the function of receptors and transporters at chemical synapses by utilizing cryo-electron microscopy, x-ray crystallography, and electrophysiology.

Education and training

    • A.B., 1984, Harvard University
    • Ph.D., 1989, Harvard University

Areas of interest

  • chemical synapses and synaptic transmission
  • glutamate receptors
  • neurotransmitter transporters
  • ligand-gated ion channels
  • cryo-electron microscopy (cryo-EM)
  • x-ray crystallography
  • membrane proteins

Honors and awards

  • Searle Scholar (1994)
  • Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellow (1996)
  • NINDS Javits Investigator Award (2008)
  • NIMH MERIT Award (2009)
  • Discovery Award, Medical Research Foundation of Oregon (2009)
  • National Academy of Sciences, elected member (2010)
  • Physiological Society Annual Review Prize Lecture (2013)
  • Anatrace Membrane Protein Award, Biophysical Society (2016)
  • National Academy of Medicine, elected member (2020)



  • {{ pub.journalAssociation.journal.name.text[0].value }}