Faculty and Trainees

Joan Ash DMICE

Joan Ash, Ph.D., M.L.S., M.S., M.B.A.
Professor and Vice Chair

blank image DMICE

Eilis Boudreau, M.D.
Associate Professor

Matthew Brush DMICE

Matthew H. Brush, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor

Amy Cantor DMICE

Amy Cantor, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor
Investigator, Pacific Northwest Evidence Based Practice Center

Nancy Carney DMICE
Michael Chiang DMICE
Roger Chou DMICE

Roger Chou, M.D.
Professor
Director, Pacific Northwest Evidence-based Practice Center

Aaron Cohen DMICE
David Dorr DMICE

David Dorr, M.D., M.S.
Professor and Vice Chair, Clinical Informatics

Karen Eden DMICE

Karen Eden, Ph.D.
Professor
Director of Clinical Track in Biomedical Informatics Graduate Program

blank image DMICE

Shahim Essaid
Research Assistant Professor

Cort Garrison DMICE

Cort Garrison, M.D., M.B.A.
Assistant Professor
Chief Health Information Officer

Paul Gorman DMICE
Melissa Haendel DMICE

Melissa Haendel, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Bill Hersh DMICE
Michelle Hribar DMICE

Michelle Hribar, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

blank image DMICE

James Jacobs, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Lisa Karstens DMICE

Lisa Karstens, Ph.D., M.B.I.
Assistant Professor

Steve Kassakian DMICE
Ted Laderas DMICE

Ted Laderas, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Michael Lieberman DMICE

Michael I. Lieberman, M.D.
Associate Professor

Judy Logan DMICE

Judith Logan, M.D.
Professor Emerita

Robert Lowe DMICE

Robert Lowe, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor Emeritus

Marian McDonagh DMICE
Shannon McWeeney DMICE

Shannon McWeeney, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair
Head of Division of Bioinformatics & Computational Biology
 

Vishnu Mohan DMICE

Vishnu Mohan, M.D., M.B.I.
Associate Professor

Michael Mooney DMICE

Michael Mooney, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Cynthia Morris DMICE

Cynthia Morris, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Professor and Vice Chair

Heidi Nelson DMICE

Heidi Nelson, M.D., M.P.H.
Research Professor and Vice Chair

Ben Orwoll DMICE

Ben Orwoll, M.D.
Assistant Professor

Kathryn Pyle DMICE
Rob Schuff DMICE

Rob Schuff, M.S.
Instructor

blank image DMICE

Robert P. Searles, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

blank image DMICE

Shelley Selph, M.D., M.P.H.
Assistant Professor

Xubo Song DMICE
Annette Totten DMICE

Annette Totten, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Joanne Valerius DMICE

Joanne Valerius, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Nicole Vasilevsky DMICE

Nicole Vasilevsky, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor

Nicole Weiskopf DMICE

Nicole G. Weiskopf, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

blank image DMICE

Beth Wilmot, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor

Dana Womack

Dana Womack, Ph.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor

Guanming Wu DMICE

Guanming Wu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

blank image DMICE

Christina Zheng, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor

Stephen Bedrick, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
bedricks@ohsu.edu

David Buckley, M.D.
Associate Professor
buckleyd@ohsu.edu

Lucia Carbone, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
carbone@ohsu.edu

Debbie Cohen, Ph.D., M.A.
Associate Professor
cohendj@ohsu.edu

Erika Cotrell, Ph.D., M.P.P.
Assistant Professor
cottrele@ohsu.edu

Jennifer DeVoe, M.D., D.Phil.
Chief Research Officer
devoej@ohsu.edu

Bud Garrison, M.B.A.
Instructor
garrisob@ohsu.edu

Jeff Gold, M.D.
Professor
goldje@ohsu.edu

Jeanne-Marie Guise, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor
guisej@ohsu.edu

Elizabeth Haney, M.D.
Assistant Professor
haneye@ohsu.edu

Devan Kansagara, M.D.
Assistant Professor
kansagar@ohsu.edu

Blake Lesselroth, M.D., M.B.I.
Assistant Professor
blakelesselroth@va.gov

Motomi Mori, Ph.D.
Professor
morim@ohsu.edu

Somnath Saha, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor
sahas@ohsu.edu

Marian Beth Smith, D.O.
Assistant Professor
smithbet@ohsu.edu

Amanda Vinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
vinsona@ohsu.edu

Bonita Altus, M.S.
Adjunct Professor
altus@ohsu.edu

Dian Chase, Ph.D., M.S.N., M.B.A.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
chased@ohsu.edu

Homer Chin, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
homer.l.chin@kp.org

Bikram Day, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor
bikramday@capsuletech.com

Tracy Edinger, N.D., M.S.
Affiliate Assistant Professor
tracyedinger@yahoo.com

Jay Eisenberg, M.D.
Adjunct Professor
jeisenbe@swmedicalcenter.org

Justin Fletcher, Ph.D., M.S.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
fletchju@ohsu.edu

Richard Gibson, M.D., Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer, Ph.D.
Affiliate Assistant Professor
kalpathy@nmr.mgh.harvard.edu

Brian Hazlehurst, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
brian.hazlehurst@kpchr.org

Richard Lowensohn, M.D.
Adjunct Associate Professor
lowensoh@ohsu.edu

J.A. Magnuson, Ph.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
magnusoj@ohsu.edu

David Maier, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
maier@cs.pdx.edu

Fred "Chip" E. Masarie, M.D.
Adjunct Assistant Professor
cmasarie@comcast.net

James McCormack, Ph.D.
Adjunct Instructor
jmccormack@coipa.org

Carmit K. McMullen, Ph.D.
Affiliate Assistant Professor
Carmit.McMullen@kpchr.org

Ilya Shmulevich, Ph.D.
Affiliate Professor

Jianji Yang. Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Andrew D. Zechnich, Ph.D.
Affiliate Associate Professor

Trainees are PhD students, postdoctoral fellows, and clinical informatics fellows enrolled in the biomedical informatics graduate program. Trainees come from a variety of backgrounds including librarianship, medicine, nursing, veterinary medicine, computer science, and other disciplines. In the admissions process, demonstration of self-motivation and ability to complete projects is of paramount importance. The program also values intellectual diversity, aiming to achieve a complementary mix of students with varied backgrounds. Here are our 2019-2020 Fellows:

Clinical informatics fellows (GME)

Amelia Drace

Nhat Pham

Jennifer Rosenbaum

Jonathan Sachs 

Brian Tran

Ngoc Tran