About the Department of Neurology

Mark O. Hatfield Research Center, with sun shining through the windows of its bridge
Stivason, Melissa. Afternoon Sunlight Shining through Hatfield Research Center (). OHSU Digital Collections. gf06g317d. doi:10.6083/M40R9NFH

The OHSU Department of Neurology is one of the nation’s leading neurologic research and training programs and provides the most comprehensive care of neurologic illnesses in the Pacific Northwest.

We have subspecialty centers that offer specialized care for patients with a range of neurologic diseases including Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, Parkinson’s disease and other movement disorders, multiple sclerosis, stroke, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, neuromuscular diseases, epilepsy and brain tumors. These centers provide expert care, conduct research and hold educational programs for patients and physicians throughout the region. Visit the OHSU Brain Institute to learn more about our specialized care.

Our department has a robust laboratory research program aimed at understanding the cause and cure of a variety of neurologic diseases. Finally, we have a highly regarded neurology residency program and offer post-doctoral training in multiple subspecialty areas.

Our goal is to continue providing state-the-art care for neurologic illnesses today, while conducting research, and training the next generation of neurologists to improve neurologic disease treatments in the future.


Neurology first described in the OHSU catalogue (then called the University of Oregon Medical School), taught in the Department of Nervous Diseases.

Dr. W.E. Allen teaches neurology anatomy.

Dr. Merl Margason teaches new neurological clinic.

Robert S. Dow, M.D., joins neurology and anatomy.

Roy L. Swank, M.D., Ph.D., recruited to establish and lead the Division of Neurology in the Department of Medicine. There are eight members of the staff.

First resident and fellow join department.

Neurology given full department status.Frank M. Yatsu, M.D., becomes first Chair of the Department of Neurology.

John P. Hammerstad, M.D., becomes Acting Chair of Department of Neurology.

Earl A. Zimmerman, M.D., becomes Chair of the Department of Neurology.

Dennis N. Bourdette, M.D., serves as Interim Chair and appointed Roy and Eulalia Swank Family Research Professor.

Dennis N. Bourdette, M.D., appointed Chair of Department of Neurology. At the end of Dr. Bourdette’s tenure as chairman, there were over 100 faculty in the Department of Neurology.

Helmi Lutsep, M.D., serves as Interim Chair of the Department of Neurology.