Headshot photo of Sima Desai, M.D., MACP, FRCP<span class="profile__pronouns"> (she/her)</span>

Sima Desai, M.D., MACP, FRCP (she/her)

  • Professor of Medicine, Division of Hospital Medicine, School of Medicine
  • Program Director, OHSU Internal Medicine Residency Program
  • Vice Chair of Education, Department of Medicine, Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, School of Medicine


Dr. Sima Desai graduated from the University of New Mexico receiving her BS and BA in Biology and Chemistry, respectively.  She graduated from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine followed by residency and Chief Residency at OHSU.  She was recruited along with her co-chiefs to start the hospitalist program at OHSU and has enjoyed a career in caring for patients and teaching resident and students since that time.  Her career path has ranged from being the Section Chief for the Hospitalist Division to being an Associate Program Director before landing her current position as Program Director. Dr. Desai is currently the Vice Chair of Education for the Department of Medicine. Her passions in medicine include medical education, diagnostic reasoning and mentorship. She enjoys spending time watching baseball, riding her bike and being with her family and friends.

Education and training

    • B.A., 1990, University of New Mexico
    • B.S., 1989, University of New Mexico
    • M.D., 1994, University of New Mexico School of Medicine
  • Internship

    • Oregon Health & Science University, 1995
  • Residency

    • Oregon Health & Science University, 1997
    • Chief Residency, Oregon Health & Science University, 1998
  • Certifications

    • Internal medicine, 1997
    • Internal Medicine, 2007, 2017

Memberships and associations:

  • ACP Member
  • ACP Education Committee, member

Areas of interest

  • Medical education
  • Adult learning theory
  • Diagnostic reasoning
  • Mentorship

Honors and awards

  • Faculty Teaching Award, OHSU Internal Medicine Residency Program, multiple years
  • Marion L. Krippaehne MD Humanism Award, OHSU Internal Medicine Residency Program, multiple years
  • ACGME Parker Palmer Courage to Teach Award
  • J. David Bristow MD Award, OHSU School of Medicine, multiple years
  • ACP Laureate Award, Oregon ACP Chapter
  • Leonard Tow Humanism Award, OHSU School of Medicine


Elsevier pure profile


  • {{ pub.journalAssociation.journal.name.text[0].value }}