How to Apply for the CCM Fellowship

PCCM Fellowship

Thank you for your interest in the OHSU Critical Care Medicine Fellowship Program. All applications must be submitted through the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS). Instructions for completing and submitting the ERAS application can be found on the ERAS website. 

Your application must include:

  • A personal statement
  • A letter of recommendation from your Program Director
  • Verification of completion of an ACGME-accredited emergency medicine or internal medicine internship and residency prior to entering the program
  • Three recent (dated within the last 12 months) letters of recommendation
  • Medical School Performance Evaluation (MSPE) or ECFMG certificate (for foreign medical graduates)

You must be legally able to work in the U.S., or eligible to obtain work authorization.

*We do accept applications for a one year Critical Care Medicine Fellowship if you have previously completed (or will complete by the anticipated start date) a 2-4 year ACGME-accredited medicine subspecialty fellowship.

*Emergency Medicine applicants: ABIM requires all fellows who are supervising residents complete 3 months in the Medical Intensive Care Unit  and an additional 3 months in another Internal Medicine rotation where you are on a team that is responsible for patient care. This can include additional ICU training.  However, consult rotations do not count towards the total. It is highly recommended that you work with your residency program to obtain this experience before beginning fellowship.

ERAS will open for candidates in early June to being assembling their application for positions that begin in July of the following year.  All programs will gain access to the applications on July 15. Selected applicants will be invited to interview on-site beginning in mid-August, and interviews will conclude in September. The Critical Care Medicine Fellowship program does not participate in the National Residency Matching Program. More information on the July fellowship application cycle timeline can be found on the ERAS website.

If you have any questions regarding the CCM fellowship, please contact Dr. Stephen Smith, Associate Program Director in charge of Critical Care Medicine. You may also contact Kristyn Brown for questions about the program, your application and the interview process. 

We look forward to receiving your application.  process.

Dr. Bart Moulton, Program Director

Dr. Stephen Smith, Associate Program Director in charge of Critical Care Medicine

Fellowship Coordinator: Brittany Furiate
3181 SW Sam Jackson Park Road
Mail Code UHN67
Portland, Oregon 97239-3098
Phone: 503 494-6158

OHSU provides equal opportunities to all individuals without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, disability, age, marital status, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, veteran status, or any other status protected by law. It does not discriminate on any status protected by law. This policy applies to all employment, education, volunteer, and patient care related activities or in any other aspect of OHSU’s operation. Retaliation for reporting discrimination is prohibited. To make an inquiry or report an incident of discrimination, contact OHSU’s Affirmative Action and Equal Opportunity (AAEO) Department at 503-494-5148,

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”) protects individuals from discrimination and harassment on the basis of sex or gender in any educational program or activity operated by recipients of federal aid. OHSU, as a recipient of federal funds, complies with Title IX and 34 CFR Part 106 by prohibiting sex and gender discrimination and harassment, which includes sexual misconduct and sexual violence, in education programs, activities, employment, and admissions. Inquiries about Title IX compliance or sex/gender discrimination and harassment may be directed to the OHSU Title IX Coordinator: Laura Stadum.

Contact Laura Stadum, JD at 503-494-0258 or

Inquiries may also be directed to the U.S. Department of Education, Western Region Office for Civil Rights at 206-607-1600,