Make a Gift

Anesthesiology and perioperative medicine funds

Betty B. Thompson, M.D., Endowment for student education and international Service

This fund honors the outstanding ethic of care and service that Dr. Betty Thompson demonstrated during her 27-year tenure at OHSU. Dr. Thompson's remarkable commitment to education and service to those in need sparked the idea of building on the tradition of the Stevens Memorial Endowment. Contributions to this fund support the travel for an OHSU medical student to accompany a Stevens scholar and faculty member on a medical mission to a developing country. The endowment will also provide a modest stipend to the recipient of the annual Betty B. Thompson, M.D., award.

Give to the Betty B. Thompson Fund

Comprehensive pain center

Treating patients with acute, cancer, or chronic pain, the Comprehensive Pain Center (CPC) has served Oregon and SW Washington for more than 10 years. Using the most advanced techniques, the team of physicians, physical therapists, and clinical psychologists, are able to ease patients' suffering and enhance their quality of life. As a leader in the field, the CPC is a strong contributor to discovery in pain management. This fund makes it possible for the CPC to further its research to advance pain management.

Give to the CPC Fund

CRNA education fund

CRNA educational practice enrichment conference and the "CRNA Teacher of the Year" Award will directly benefit from this fund. The Conference, hosted by APOM, offers continuing educational opportunities for OHSU CRNAs and student CRNAs, along with welcoming healthcare professionals from the region. Participants are able to learn from exceptional speakers and experience new products and medical techniques first-hand.

Give to the CRNA Education Fund

 General department support

Our department is dedicated to providing outstanding medical care for our patients and exceptional training opportunities for our fellows, residents, and medical students. Gifts to the General Fund ensure that we are able to continue our nationally recognized work on both the clinical and research sides. This fund directly supports new equipment, professional development, and educational training, all of which advance our mission of excellence in education and patient care.

Give to the APOM Department

Frederick P. Haugen, M.D., Lecture fund

Named in recognition of former department Chair Dr. Frederick Haugen and his contributions to anesthesiology education, this fund supports the annual Haugen Lecture, which brings a notable anesthesiologist to the Portland area to speak. Established in the 1980s, this support has allowed Oregon anesthesiologists to hear first-hand about new developments and research in the field.

Give to the Frederick P. Haugen Fund

Oregon Regional Anesthesia Center (ORAC)

Constant progress in regional anesthesia practice represents a challenge for all anesthesiologists. This fund supports education for residents, fellows, and staff as well as research to help keep our department on the cutting edge in the field of regional anesthesia.

Give to the ORAC Fund

 Oregon scholars fund

The Oregon scholars fund supports a visionary residency program that blends the core anesthesiology curriculum with advanced training in critical care medicine and research. This innovative 48-month program is the first of its kind in the U.S. to be approved by the ACGME and we welcomed the first Oregon Scholars in 2006. The Oregon Scholars program offers a unique way for residents to gain fellowship training in critical care medicine while continuing to have experiences in the core anesthesiology residency, allowing for more reflection and optimal learning. Residents interested in dedicated research time can take advantage of working with researchers and clinician-scientists to produce a substantial research project through the research track. This track allows scholars to explore the discovery aspect of medicine and gain invaluable insight into academic medicine.

Give to the OSP Fund

Pediatric pain management center, Doernbecher children's hospital

The Pediatric Pain Management Center, which opened in 2001, is a nationally-known facility specializing in treating acute and chronic pain in children. In addition to its clinical work, the PPMC is actively involved in clinical research to help us improve how we care for children. This fund supports the multi-disciplinary team in providing quality and compassionate care to Oregon's children and to better understanding pain management through education and research.

Give to the Pediatric Pain Management Center

Research fund

As one of the top research anesthesiology departments in the country, we strongly encourage and support our faculty and residents in their research pursuits. Our program is designed to foster interdisciplinary collaboration among basic and clinician scientists in order to maximize the benefits of our discoveries. One major area of study is ischemic cell injury and tissue protection within brain, heart and kidney, where our scientists are examining stroke, cardiac arrest and myocardial infarction. We are also on the forefront of gender-based medicine, which we expect to have a direct impact on the treatment and diagnosis of diseases for both men and women. The Research Fund also supports clinical research conducted by residents and fellows, which often focuses on issues related to patient safety and pain management.

Give to the Research Fund

Wendell C. Stevens, M.D., Memorial endowment fund

This fund, named in memory of former department Chair Dr. Wendell Stevens, is designated for the support of humanitarian endeavors, including the provision of medical care and education to underserved communities. Contributions to this fund are used to support participation by the department's third year residents and fellows in ABA and GME approved medical missions. Since inception, we have funded two missions per year, primarily to remote areas in South America. Our goal is to expand this endowed program so all residents will have the opportunity to participate in a humanitarian mission as part of their training program. Dr. Wendell Stevens served as the department chair from 1982-92 and is remembered as a gifted teacher and researcher.

Give to the Wendell C. Stevens Fund

Awards fund

Each year residents and faculty are recognized for their exemplary service to anesthesiology patients and the department. The Awards Fund supports several honors, including the Frederick Haugen, M.D., Medical Educators Award; the Norman Bergman, M.D., Award; the Harry G.G. Kingston Award; the Betty Thompson, M.D., Award; and the Joanne Jene, M.D., Award, all which are named in honor or memory of previous anesthesiology educators.