Department News

Check out the links below to find out more information about the latest news and information regarding the Chemical Physiology and Biochemistry department.

OHSU scientist Beth Habecker named 2021 AAAS fellow

CPB welcomes newest faculty member, James Frank, Ph.D.

Discovery raises possibility of new medication for Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s

Schultz Group research reported in Chemical & Engineering News

2021 John A. Resko Award Recipients

Bruce Branchaud, Distinguished Scientist in CEDAR with an appointment in CPB, receives the highest professional distinction for academic inventors, National Academy of Inventors Fellow

Drs. Kelly and Ronnekleiv receive OHSU Center for Women’s Health Circle of Giving 2020 award

Two graduate students awarded positions on T32 institutional training grant

Katherine Michaelis receives John A. Resko Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award

Beth Habecker named Co-Director of Precision Medicine Innovation Co-Laboratory

Autobahn Therapeutics Takes Aim at CNS Disorders with $76 Million Series B

Katy Michaelis receives the John A. Resko Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award

Highlighted Publication: "Coronavirus Infection and PARP Expression Dysregulate the NAD Metabolome: A Potentially Actionable Component of Innate Immunity"

Janelle Tobias recognized in the 2020 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship competition

Veronica Cochrane awarded ASBMB 2020 travel award

2019 Barbara A. Horwitz and John M. Horowitz Research Award presented to Alyssa Bonillas in the Brooks lab

Recently published paper by the Shyng lab wins SOM paper of the month

Myelin repair study by Dr. Meredith Hartley selected as 2019 Postdoctoral Paper of the Year

Erika Riederer, a PH2 graduate student was awarded the best poster prize at Gordon Research Conference

The Aicher lab has been awarded a grant from the National Eye Institute

Congratulations to the following CPB graduate students who were awarded a Tartar award for 2019

Michael Cohen, Ph.D., one of three innovators funded by Biomedical Innovation Program

Pierre Moenne-Loccoz, PhD & Linda Susan Musil, PhD are promoted to full professor

Dr. Xiao to Serve as Member of Drug Discovery and Molecular Pharmacology Study Section

New Method Catches Cystic fibrosis Inflammatory Enzyme in the Act

Two basic science departments to join

Main-Chain Mutagenesis Reveals Intrahelical Coupling in an Ion Channel Voltage-Sensor

Lights On the Endocannabinoid System: Catching Cellular Membranes in Action

Two Physiology and Pharmacology Students Named as 2018 ARCS Scholars

Research Shows a Single Dose of Cocaine Irreversibly Alters Brain

Dr. Xiao Receives $120K to Develop New Therapy for Drug-Resistant Ovarian Cancer

Martin Kelly, Ph.D., Receives 2018 Biomedical Innovation Program Drug Discovery Award

Acute Hyperalgesia and Delayed Dry Eye After Corneal Abrasion Injury

Michael Cohen, Ph.D. Receives ICBS Young Chemical Biologist Awards

Estrogenic-Dependent Glutamatergic Neurotransmission from Kisspeptin Neurons Governs Feeding Circuit

Beth Habecker, PhD to Serve 3 Year Term on The Journal of Physiology Editorial Board

Three Physiology and Pharmacology Students Receive 2018 Tartar Award

Dr. Xiangshu Xiao Receives Funding to Develop a New Therapy for Drug-resistant Ovarian Cancer

First Chemical Biology and Physiology Summer Undergraduate Research Program Was a Success