Eight Behavioral Neuroscience Trainees Receive NIH NRSA Awards

03/07/12  Portland, Ore.

We are pleased to announce that six Behavioral Neuroscience PhD graduate students - Anita Cservenka, Irina Fonareva, William Giardino, Noah Gubner, Travis Moschak, and Marcia Ramaker - and two Behavioral Neuroscience postdoctoral fellows - Jules Panksepp and Jonathan Raybuck - are now independently-funded researchers. They recently received notification of grant award for the following NIH-NRSA (F31 & F32) applications:

  • Anita Cservenka: Emotional processing and brain activity in youth at high risk for alcoholism
  • Irina Fonareva: Physiologic and expectancy effects of stress-reducing aroma in older adults
  • William Giardino: Edinger-Westphal urocortin-1 involvement in binge ethanol intake and reward
  • Noah Gubner: Effects of nicotine and varenicline on ethanol behaviors
  • Travis Moschak: Determining the neurological and behavioral substrates of ethanol and discounting
  • Marcia Ramaker: Neurosteroids and alcohol self-administration and reinstatement
  • Jules Panksepp: Vicarious neural activity, genetic differences, and social fear learning
  • Jonathan Raybuck: Neural substrates of recent and remote cocaine memories


Congratulations Anita, Irina, Will, Noah, Travis, Marcia, Jules, & Jon!


Full listings of current and previous NIH-NRSA awards can be found here (for predoctoral trainees) and here (for postdoctoral trainees).


Dr. Ruth L. Kirchstein, for whom the Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award (NRSA) is named, passed away on October 6, 2009. Aside from Dr. Kirschstein's scientific accomplishments in polio vaccine development, and becoming the first woman director of an NIH Institute, she was a champion of research training and a strong advocate for the inclusion of underrepresented individuals in the scientific workforce. More on Dr. Kirschtein's life can be found at: http://www.nigms.nih.gov/Training/RuthKirschstein.