Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion in Behavioral Neuroscience

Department Diversity Statement

The Department of Behavioral Neuroscience is committed to ensuring that all graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research assistants, staff, and faculty members are treated with dignity and respect. We understand that diversity enriches and improves the quality of research and ideas and creates an environment conducive to the development of novel, innovative solutions. We understand that a diverse representation in all levels of departmental functioning is key in promoting voices which might otherwise be silenced. We are committed individually and as a department to learning and growing so that we might continue to improve the ways in which we support diversity and respect, promote a welcoming environment, and abolish inequalities in all aspects of our work.

Department Diversity Committee

BSN students Louis Nuñez and Sam Rios with Dr. Deb Finn at the 2022 ABRCMS Conference.

The Behavioral Neuroscience Diversity Committee is made up of department Faculty, Students, and Postdoctoral Fellows. Current members are listed below.

  • David Jacobs - Staff
  • Miranda Lim - Faculty Co-Chair
  • Sofia Lopez - Postdoctoral Scholar
  • Claudio Mello - Faculty Co-Chair
  • Noah Milman - Graduate Researcher
  • Sophia Weber - Graduate Researcher

Past & Present Committee Members (pdf link)

Committee Initiatives Document

Committee Action Plan Document