Department Celebrates Several Recent Awards

Congratulations to three Behavioral & Systems Neuroscience Graduate Researchers for recently awarded National Research Service Awards (NRSAs):

  • Sophia Weber: “The role of nucleus accumbens dopamine in incubation of cocaine craving”
  • Landon Bayless-Edwards: "Intracellular signaling mechanisms underlying opioid modulation of pain"
  • Amy Chan: “Role of nucleus accumbens core in ethanol reward and binge-like drinking: Focus on sex as a biological variable”

Congratulations also to Behavioral & Systems Neuroscience Graduate Researcher Jereme Wingert for recently being awarded a National Science Foundation Fellowship. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program provides 3 years of support for PhD students and is awarded annually to about 2500 trainees across all fields of scientific research in the United States.

Behavioral Neuroscience also celebrates the renewal of the department's long running NIA T32 Training Grant, Dr. Marina Wolf's R01 titled "Glutamate receptor plasticity underlying incubation of methamphetamine craving," via NIDA, and Dr. Bita Moghaddam's newly awarded R21 titled "Long term consequences of adolescent alcohol use on behavioral inhibition," via NIAAA.

Department Faculty, Drs. Deb Finn and Mary Heinricher, were also recently awarded the OHSU 2023 Excellence in Education Award and the OHSU 2023 John A. Resko Faculty Excellence in Research and Mentoring Award, respectively. Congratulations!

Department Diversity Statement

The Department of Behavioral Neuroscience is committed to ensuring that all graduate students, post-doctoral fellows, research assistants, staff, and faculty members are treated with dignity and respect. We understand that diversity enriches and improves the quality of research and ideas and creates an environment conducive to the development of novel, innovative solutions. We understand that a diverse representation in all levels of departmental functioning is key in promoting voices which might otherwise be silenced. We are committed individually and as a department to learning and growing so that we might continue to improve the ways in which we support diversity and respect, promote a welcoming environment, and abolish inequalities in all aspects of our work.  


Learn about AVDS

Alliance for Visible Diversity in Science supports underrepresented learners