Ashworth-Thomason Award

The Department of Behavioral Neuroscience invites applications for its semiannual scientific awards program.  The Ashworth-Thomason Graduate Training Award benefits graduate students who wish to enhance their graduate training . Examples for awards include but are not limited to attending workshop/courses, “sabbatical” training at a distant laboratory; focused purchase of classic textbooks.

Generally, no more than 3 applications will be awarded for a total of $3,000 annually, with a maximum of $1,000 each. No more than two applications per deadline will be funded.

Two deadlines per year for applications are in mid-May and mid-November.

Previous award recipients

2023: Kelly Abshire, Caitlynn De Preter, and Randall Olson

2022: Noah Milman

2021: Dakota Kliamovich and Michelle Palumbo

2018: Brittany Alperin and Eileen Torres

2017: Scott Jones and Brian Mills

2016: Leah Hitchcock and Rebecca Hood

2015: Monique Smith

2014: Megan McClintick

2013: John Harkness and Lauren Kruse

2012: Marcia Ramaker, Emily EastwoodMorgan Wirthlin

2011: Amanda Barkley-Levenson, Will Giardino, Yossi Berlow, Megan Herting

2010: Irina Fonareva, Anita Cservenka, Josh Kaplan

2009: David Roalf, Allison Anacker

2008: Lauren Dobbs, Angela Scibelli, Laura Villasana, James Stafford

2007: Kyle Ambert, Peter GroblewskiSkyla Herod, Christian Richard

2006: Ted Benice

2005: Rebecca Hammond

The Ashworth-Thomason Graduate Training Award recognizes excellent graduate students in the Department of Behavioral Neuroscience. Requests for support are sought in these areas:

  • attendance at molecular, behavioral and cognitive neuroscience Workshops or Courses
  • travel and/or living expenses for short “sabbatical” training in laboratories outside OHSU
  • classic textbooks for specific purposes
  • awards will not be used for support of student stipends or fees, nor for travel for routine scientific meetings either national or international (e.g., RSA and Society for Neuroscience)

Successful applications have emphasized unique opportunities for the student, especially workshops with "hands-on" training opportunities and student-initiated sabbaticals. These categories should be interpreted broadly and are not meant to be exclusive; all kinds of training opportunities are of sufficient merit to be considered for awards. In the event that a student does not get accepted into a proposed training opportunity or workshop, (s)he may propose an alternate use for the award.

Considerations for priority of awards

  • matching funds
  • more senior students with plans to enhance qualifications and/or training
  • no previous award (*note: no student may receive the award more than once in a two-year period)

The Ashworth Graduate Training Award was established in 2004.  An award consists of a citation and a cash prize, which are presented at the following BEHN Faculty meeting.  The awardee is required to acknowledge receipt and use of the funding upon return. In 2017 the graduate faculty voted to change the name of the Ashworth award to the Ashworth-Thomason Graduate Training Award to recognize the work and contributions of long-time graduate program administrator, Kris Thomason.