Department News

April 29, 2022

Paige Arneson-Wissink, Ph.D. and Beth L. Worley, Ph.D., researchers in Grossberg Lab, presented at the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) Annual Meeting 2022. Dr. Arneson-Wissink presented data on interleukin-6 derived from tumors impairs the liver’s response to undernutrition in pancreatic cancer cachexia and Dr. Worley detailed how blocking the RNA-binding protein called HuR might provide a new way treat cachexia caused by pancreatic cancer.

Read more here OHSU scientists represent at AACR 

Arthur Hung FACR.png

April 26, 2022

Arthur Hung, M.D. was inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Radiology (ACR) at the 2022 ACR Annual Meeting. The ACR Fellowship is one of the highest honors the ACR can bestow on a member in good standing. ACR Fellows demonstrate a history of service to the College, organized radiology, teaching, and/or research. Only 15 percent of College members have been awarded this honor.

PS 2022 Panel1.jpg

April 10, 2022

The Roseburg Community Cancer Center (CCC) and OHSU hosted the 2022 Provider Summit to bring together providers to discuss different topics when it comes to cancer care including the new technologies, treatment options and the coordinated care available at CCC and OHSU.

2022 Match.jpg

March 18, 2022

The Department of Radiation Medicine's Radiation Oncology Residency Program will welcome Colton Powers, M.D., University of South Dakota - Sanford School of Medicine, and Erin Kaya, M.D., Washington State University - Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine, into its training program, as of July 2024. 


March 30, 2022

The Department of Radiation Medicine's Medical Physics Residency Program will welcome Elizabeth Park, M.S., Louisiana State University, into its training program, as of July 2023. 

February 28, 2022

Kim Ohaegbulam, M.D., Ph.D., radiation oncology resident (PGY-3), has been awarded a 2022-2023 ASTRO-AstraZeneca Radiation Oncology Research Training Fellowship. This fellowship provides radiation oncology residents with unique research opportunities on-site at an AstraZeneca facility.

February 21, 2022

Ana Dieguez, M.S., medical physics resident, has been named a 2022 Richard L. Morin, PhD, Fellowship in Medical Physics fellow. This Fellowship in Medical Physics provides medical physics residents an opportunity for practical experience with the American College of Radiology (ACR) and at the ACR Annual Meeting.  

February 2, 2022

Nima Nabavizadeh, M.D., associate professor of radiation medicine, was interviewed at the 2021 American Society of Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) annual meeting to discuss use of external-beam radiation therapy as a bridge to transplant in hepatocellular carcinoma cancer patients. Watch is interview here: VIDEO: Use of Radiation Therapy as a Bridge-to-transplant in Liver Cancer

December 30, 2021

In a year that was anything but normal, the OHSU Knight Cancer Institute’s people stepped up and continued to do great things. From basic research, to patient care, to impact in the community, the institute has a mission to end cancer as we know it. Here’s a look back at a year of significant achievements amid the ongoing pandemic. Check out the Knight Cancer signal achievements of 2021.

December 17, 2021

Jenna Kahn, M.D., Assistant Professor and Medical Student Clerkship Director, and Erqi Pollom, M.D.,  Assistant Professor, Stanford University, joined The Accelerators (Drs. Anna LaucisMatt Spraker, and Simul Parikh) podcast to discuss the development of Radiation Oncology Virtual Education Rotation (ROVER) and its future. Listen to the podcast here: Builders Part 4: Erqi Pollom and Jenna Kahn (ROVER)

December 7, 2021

Nima Nabavizadeh, M.D., associate professor and radiation oncology residency program director, on being named one of Portland Monthly's Top Doctors in Radiation Oncology. Dr. Nabavizadeh specializes in caring for people with lymphoma and gastrointestinal cancers.

December 1, 2021

Ana Dieguez, M.S., medical physics resident, has been appointed as a non-voting member to American Association of Physicists in Medicine's (AAPM) Hispanic and Latin-x Medical Physics Subcommittee (HLMPSC). This committee aims to provide mentorship, networking, outreach and bringing awareness to concerns of the Hispanic medical physics community.

November 23, 2021

Joshua Walker, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor with the Department of Radiation Medicine and Cell, Developmental and Cancer Biology, was awarded a COVID-relief for Faculty Award, funded jointly by the NCI P30 Cancer Center Support Grant and OHSU benefactors, Tim and Mary Boyle, through the Hildegard Lamfrom Endowment for his proposal Novel lipid nanoparticle-based gene therapy for use with ionizing radiation.

November 5, 2021

The Department of Radiation Medicine celebrates National Radiologic Technology Week! November 7 - November 13 is celebrated annually to recognize the vital work of radiation therapists across the nation. The week-long celebration calls attention to the important role medical imaging and radiation therapy professionals play in patient care and health care safety. This year’s theme is “Essential Together.”

October 27, 2021

Nima Nabavizadeh, associate professor, was featured in the Medscape article, Radiation Underused as 'Bridge' to Transplant in Liver Cancer, for his hepatocellular carcinoma at the 2021 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Annual Meeting.

October 25, 2021

Department of Radiation Medicine faculty, residents, medical students and research collaborators attended the 2021 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. The hybrid meeting was held virtually and in-person.

Complete list of 2021's presenters and posters & abstracts.

October 24, 2021

Nima Nabavizadeh, associate professor, and his research team, were featured at the 2021 American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) Annual Meeting for their research project, Bridge-to-transplant external-beam radiation therapy in patients with hepatocellular carcinoma: A utilization analysis of the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS) database (Abstract 2078). Dr.  Nabavizadeh discussed the project's finding at an ASTRO news briefing and at Poster Q&A 01 - Session 01 - Gastrointestinal Cancer and Nonmalignant Disease. ASTRO news release: External-beam radiation therapy underused for people with liver cancer awaiting transplant 

October 16, 2021

Blair Murphy, M.D., assistant professor, participated in the Ask a Sarcoma Doc panel at OHSU's annual Sarcoma Patient Education Conference. The conference brings together OHSU sarcoma experts from multiple specialties to answer the patient and caretaker questions and share information on the basics of sarcoma and research advances.

October 10, 2021

Susan Hedlund, M.S.W., LCSW, OSW-C, director of Patient and Family Services at the Knight Cancer Institute, was interviewed by The Columbian on the benefits of art therapy, and other creative therapies, for breast cancer patients. The article, Art therapy a healing outlet for breast cancer patients, highlights the importance of art when dealing with a cancer diagnosis. 

October 4, 2021

Kiri Cook, M.D., assistant professor, moderated the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO) and RT Answers “Ask a Radiation Oncologist” session about breast cancer featuring Roberto Diaz, M.D., Ph.D., Oluwadamilola Oladeru, M.D., and Jean Wright, M.D. The recorded session answers common patient questions on radiation therapy and breast cancer.

Ask a Radiation Oncologist: Radiation Therapy for Breast Cancer

October 1, 2021

Jenna Kahn, M.D., assistant professor, has been invited to speak at the American College of Radiation Oncology (ACRO) 2022 Radiation Oncology Summit in March 2022, held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.