Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

What is MOC?

The American Board of Medical Specialties Program for Maintenance of Certification is a system of ongoing professional development and practice assessment and improvement. It challenges physicians to focus on the continuous development of their skill set, especially those skills that enable them to function effectively in interprofessional teams, integrated systems of care, and community settings.

Board certified physicians build six core competencies for quality patient care in their medical specialty via a four-part framework including: licensure and professional standing (Part I), lifelong learning and self assessment (Part II), cognitive expertise (Part III), and practice performance improvement (Part IV).

Core Competencies

  • Professionalism
  • Patient Care and Procedural Skills
  • Medical Knowledge
  • Practice-based Learning and Improvement
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills
  • Systems-based Practice

Visit the American Board of Specialties website for more information on the four-part framework of MOC.