Maintenance of Certification

Four part MOC framework
The four-part framework of MOC

What is Maintenance of Certification?

The American Board of Medical Specialties Program for Maintenance of Certification is a system of ongoing professional development and practice assessment and improvement. It challenges physicians to focus on the continuous development of their skill set, especially those skills that enable them to function effectively in interprofessional teams, integrated systems of care, and community settings.

Board certified physicians  build six core competencies for quality patient care in their medical specialty.

  • Professionalism
  • Patient Care and Procedural Skills
  • Medical Knowledge
  • Practice-based Learning and Improvement
  • Interpersonal and Communication Skills
  • Systems-based Practice

These competencies are built using the four-part framework above. Visit the American Board of Specialties website for more information on the four-part framework of MOC.