The Goodman Lecture

Dr. Goodman

The Goodman Lecture honors Portland native, Dr. Louis S. Goodman, the distinguished 1932 graduate of the University of Oregon Medical School (the founding institution of OHSU). Dr. Goodman discovered the first effective cancer chemotherapy. In 1941, Dr. Goodman together with Alfred Z. Gilman first published what has become the foundational medical pharmacology textbook, Goodman and Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Dr. Goodman was a member of the National Academy of Sciences. The lecture was established in 1996 from a generous gift from Sterling Drug Inc. to the Department of Pharmacology in 1982. The Goodman Lecture brings preeminent pharmacologists to Oregon Health and Science University. The Goodman Lectureship has hosted numerous distinguished visitors including Nobel Laureates. Contributions to this lectureship may be made by inquiring at the OHSU Foundation and noting the Goodman Lectureship.

Past speakers

2018 Michel Bouvier, Ph.D.
Biochemistry and Molecular Medicine
University of Montreal, Canada
"Functional Selectivity and Spatio-Temporal propagation of GPCR signaling; from structural Determinants to better drugs?"

2015 Bryan Roth, Ph.D.
Michael J. Hooker Distinguished Professor of Pharmacology
University of North Caroline, Chapel Hill
Watch the video.
"Illuminating a subterranean pharmacology"

 2014 Robert J. Lefkowitz, MD
James B. Duke Professor of Medicine
Investigator of Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
"Seven Transmembrane Receptors"

2013 Alexander D. MacKerell Jr., Ph.D.
Grollman-Glick Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
University of Maryland
"Toward opioid analgesics with decreased adverse side effects: From ligand-based to GPCR-based computer-aided drug design:

2012 Susan G. Amara, Ph.D.
Thomas Detre Professor and Chair
Department of Neurobiology
University of Pittsburgh
*Currently, Director of Division of Intramural Research, National Institute of Mental Health
"A new take on uptake: neurotransmitter transporters and the activation of cellular signaling pathways by amphetamines"

2012 David J. Mangelsdorf, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Investigator, HHMI
Beatrice and Miguel Elias Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science
University of Texas SW Medical Center
"Nuclear Receptors, FGFs and Metabolism"

2010 David E. Clapham, M.D., Ph.D.
Aldo R. Castaneda Professor of Cardiovascular Research
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Harvard Medical School
"Navigating through Ion Channels"

2009 Dorothee Kern, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry
Brandeis University
"The choreography of an enzyme's dance"

2008 Brian Kobilka, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Molecular and Cellular Physiology
Stanford University, CA
2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
"Structure and Dynamics of the Beta 2 Adrenergic Receptor"

2007 Keith Yamamoto, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology
Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
"How a Single Regulatory Factor Can Specify Complex Transcription Networks"

2006 David Julius, Ph.D.
Professor & Vice Chair
Department of Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology
University of California, San Francisco
"From Peppers to Peppermints: Molecular Insights into Somatosensation and Pain"

2005 Richard H. Goodman, M.D., Ph.D.
Director & Senior Scientist,
The Vollum Institute, OHSU, Portland, OR
"CREB Control of Gene Networks - Time for a New Model?"

2004 Joan Heller Brown, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor of Pharmacology
University of California, San Diego
"G-proteins, Ca2+ and CaMKII Signaling to Cardiomyocyte Growth and Apoptosis"

2003 Jeffery W. Kelly, Ph.D.
Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry, The Scripps Research Institute,
The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology, La Jolla, CA
"Understanding the Energetics of Amyloidosis and Manipulating the Landscape with Small Molecules and Trans-Suppression to Prevent Disease"

2002 Arvid Carlsson, M.D.
2000 Nobel Prize Recipient for Physiology or Medicine,
Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
"The Paradigm Shift in Brain Research from "Sparks to "Soup" and Its Impact on Neurology and Psychiatry"

2000 Lee E. Limbird, Ph.D.
Professor & Chair of Biomedical Sciences
Vice President for Research, Meharry Medical College
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
*currently at Fisk University
"Signaling Specificity of G Protein-Coupled Receptors: The Importance of Location"

1999 Donald Coffey, Ph.D.
The Catherine Iola and J. Smith Michael Distinguished Professor of Urology
Professor of Oncology and Pharmacology
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
"Science, Creativity, and Human Destiny"

1998 William A. Catterall, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair of Pharmacology
University of Washington
"Structure, Function and Molecular Pharmacology of Voltage-gated Sodium Channels"

1996 Alfred Gilman, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sc. (Hon.)
1994 Nobel Prize in Medicine or Physiology
Atticus James Gill, M.D. Chair in Medical Science
Nadine and Tom Craddick Distinguished Chair in Medical Science
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, TX
"G Proteins and Regulation of Adenylyl Cy"