Advisory Committee

The Research Diversity Advisory Committee supports OFDIR by advising on and overseeing changes to the program as well as reviewing applications from prospective Fellows. Our committee members come from various departments throughout OHSU and are an invaluable source of support to the program.

Nicole Bowles

Nicole Bowles, Ph.D. is a Research Assistant Professor in the Oregon Institute of Occupational Health Sciences. She provides guidance to the advisory committee on matters related to supporting diversity and inclusion initiatives. 

Cristiane Miranda Franca

Cristiane Miranda Franca, Ph.D. is a postdoctoral dentist researcher, a mentor to fellow researchers, and an OFDIR Community Fellow. She advises the Program Directors on programmatic activities and professional development needs of OFDIR Fellows. 

Mary Heinrecher

Mary Heinrecher, Ph.D. is the Associate Dean of Basic Research at OHSU. She advises on programmatic goals and as the Associate Dean for Basic Research acts as a liaison between OFDIR and the School of Medicine.

Fikadu Tafesse

Fikadu Tafesse, Ph.D. is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Microbiology & Immunology. He actively mentors diverse trainees within his field and provides guidance on programmatic goals.

Constance Tucker

Constance Tucker, M.A., Ph.D. is the Vice Provost of Educational Improvement and Innovation. She provides expertise on educational improvement, innovation, and advises on learning outcomes and assessment for trainees.