About Us

Co-Directors

Elizabeth Eckstrom, MD, MPH
Associate Professor and Director of Geriatrics
Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-8465
eckstrom@ohsu.edu

Dr. Eckstrom is a geriatrician who practices primary and consultative geriatrics and teaches students, residents, and faculty at OHSU and around the state. Her research is focused on interprofessional education, tai chi to promote health in older adults, and falls prevention.

Henryk Urbanski, PhD, DSc
Professor and Senior Scientist
Divisions of Neuroscience and Reproductive and Developmental Sciences
Oregon National Primate Research Center
Departments of Behavioral Neuroscience and Physiology and Pharmacology
Oregon Health & Science University
503-346-5496
urbanski@ohsu.edu

Dr. Urbanski's research team studies the effects of day-length, diet, and hormones on reproductive physiology. They are particularly interested in the neuroendocrine mechanisms that underlie perturbed sleep-wake cycles in the elderly, and the impact of circadian rhythm disruption on cognitive function. Dr. Urbanski is also the director of the Neuroscience of Aging training program at OHSU.

Executive Committee

Abhijit Banerjee, PhD, MBA
Director of Business Development
Technology Transfer and Business Development
Oregon Health & Science University
503 346-0360
banerjea@ohsu.edu

Rachel Dresbeck, PhD
Director, Research Development and Communication Services
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-3124
dresbeck@ohsu.edu

Jeffrey Kaye, MD
Executive Director and Professor, Layton Aging and Alzheimer's Disease Center
Departments of Neurology and Biomedical Engineering
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-6976
kaye@ohsu.edu

Eric Orwoll, MD
Associate Dean, Professor and Director of Clinical Research Center
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Clinical Nutrition
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-0225
orwoll@ohsu.edu

Trish Prius, PhD
Business Development Associate
Technology Transfer and Business Development
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-6751
pruist@ohsu.edu

Eli Schwarz, PhD, DDS, MPH
Professor and Chair
Department of Community Dentistry
Oregon Health & Science University
503-494-7603
schwarz@ohsu.edu