Awards and recognitions

Myatt wins IFPA senior scientist award

Leslie Myatt receiving certificate

Leslie Myatt, Ph.D., FRCOG, Moore Institute associate director, was presented with the senior scientist award in placentology at the 2019 IFPA conference. Myatt served as president of the International Federation of Placenta Associations (IFPA) from 2002 to 2004 and hosted the annual meeting at OHSU in 2016. He studies the effects of maternal obesity, gestational diabetes and sexual dimorphism on mitochondrial respiration in the placenta and their relationship to epigenetic regulation of placental function and fetal programming.

Thornburg awarded Barker medal

Moore Institute director Kent Thornburg and wis wife Jeanie Thornburg

Kent Thornburg, Ph.D., Moore Institute director, was awarded the International DOHaD Society's highest honor. Every two years the society presents the award in recognition of the late David Barker to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to the scientific development and broader leadership of the DOHaD field. Medals are awarded at the Society World Congress, where the medal winner delivers a plenary lecture.

Read more: An enduring friendship sparked a revolution in our understanding of the origins of chronic disease


Thornburg receives national March of Dimes award

Moore Institute director Kent Thornburg, Ph.D., received the 2018 March of Dimes Agnes Higgins Award for pioneering research and education that has changed the way scientists view maternal-fetal nutrition and the risk of chronic disease later in life. Read the full news release.