What AHEC's Do

We are dedicated to improving the accessibility to healthcare in rural and underserved populations through advocacy, education, and research.

Offer creative, hands-on and innovative health career curriculums for pre-college level students. Improve the supply, distribution and diversity of healthcare professionals in rural and underserved communities in Oregon.

Through AHEC Scholars, connects students to clinical experiences with rural and underserved populations, facilitating future engagement for health careers students to remain in their clinical practice regions and providing more sustainable health care in those areas following their training.

Aids in recruitment, clinical placement and retention activities to address community and state health care workforce needs customized to each region in Oregon.  Provides accredited continuing education programs and professional support to meet the needs of health care professionals, especially those practicing in rural and underserved areas.

AHEC's are designed to be responsive to local health needs and serve as an important link between academic training programs and community-based outreach programs.

ORAHEC builds statewide academic and community partnerships to reduce Health Profession Shortage Areas and improve the quality of health care for populations in need. We are a partnership between OHSU and five Regional Centers, to better serve the needs of the state working in collaboration to develop a well-prepared, high quality healthcare workforce for Oregon beginning with early childhood (K-16) education, through professional training and into support for practicing professionals.

Who We Are

Oregon Area Health Education Center works statewide to improve the availability , continuity and quality of health care for communities and populations in need through education.

Oregon AHEC Programs

AHEC's were developed by Congress in 1971 to recruit, train and retain a health professions workforce for rural and underserved populations.   AHEC Programs and Centers are located in most all 50 states: The National AHEC Organization (NAO) comprises over 300 program offices and regional centers, seving over 85% of U.S. counties.

AHEC Scholars Kick-Off Event

September 26, 2019 4:30-7:00