Interprofessional Education (IPE)

Interprofessional Education and Practice Wordcloud


Interprofessional Education Dates for AY 2016-17

IPE "Professionalism and Professional Identity: Exploring Shared Commitments" Event
Wednesday, August 10, 2016, 1:00-4:50 PM, followed by social event

IPE Foundations Course, "Foundations of Patient Safety and Interprofessional Practice"
Wednesday, October 5, 2016, 1:00–4:50 PM
Wednesday, January 18, 2017, 1:00–4:50 PM
Wednesday, April 12, 2017, 1:00–4:50 PM

Interprofessional Education Dates for AY 2017-18

IPE Foundations course sessions schedule
Wednesday, October 4, 2017, 1:00–4:50 PM
Wednesday, January 10, 2018, 1:00–4:50 PM [Note: 1st Wednesday of winter term]
Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 1:00–4:50 PM

IPE "Professional Identity" session and social event
Wednesday, August 9, 2017, 1:00–6:30 PM

An Innovative Interprofessional Environment

CLSB 120x180

OHSU's Interprofessional Initiative took a giant step forward with the June 2014 opening of the OHSU/Oregon University System (OUS) Collaborative Life Sciences Building (CLSB) on OHSU's South Waterfront campus. This approximately 500,000-square-foot interprofessional facility brings together students from OHSU, Portland State University, and Oregon State University under one roof, fostering collaboration in undergraduate and graduate education among students and instructors from multiple institutions and academic programs. The CLSB is the primary educational venue for OHSU dental, medical, nursing, pharmacy, and physician assistant students. The CLSB includes lecture halls, a 20,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art Interprofessional Simulation Center.The IPI is enhancing existing and creating new opportunities for IPE-IPCP throughout the university and throughout Oregon, a national leader in healthcare reform and coordinated, patient-centered care.  For additional information on interprofessional simulation at OHSU, you can download the IPE curriculum.

OHSU Curriculum Committee

OHSU Curriculum Committee Bylaws

Current Approved IPE and UNI Courses

UNI - (FOCA) Foundations of Clinical Anatomy - course syllabus
UNI - Antibiotics and Public Health - course syllabus
UNI - Writing and Publishing in the Health Sciences - course syllabus
UNI - Conversations in Global Health - course syllabus
UNI - Introduction to Culinary Medicine - course syllabus

Interested in proposing a new interprofessional or multiprofessional course? Please complete the New Course Proposal Form and submit to ipe@ohsu.ed


Interprofessional Initiative Steering Committee Members



Elena Andresen, PhD

Interim Senior Vice President and Provost

Judith Baggs, PhD, RN

Elizabeth N. Gray Distinguished Professor, School of Nursing

David Bearden, Pharm.D

Clinical Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice

Jennifer Boyd, PhD, MBA

Assistant Vice Provost for Strategic Planning and Program Development

Katherine Bradley, PhD, RN

Associate Dean, OHSU-PSU School of Public Health

Patty Carney, PhD

Professor, School of Medicine

      Martha Driessnack, PhD, PPCNP-BC

                                               Associate Professor, School of Nursing

              Molly Osborne, MD, PhD

                                             Professor, School of Medicine

Curt Stilp, EdD (C), PA-C

    Director, Oregon Area Health Education Center