Oregon's Workplace Health and Safety: Looking Forward to 2020

A Symposium presented by CROET at Oregon Health & Science University & Oregon OSHA


September 24, 2009
Red Lion Hotel on the River, Jantzen Beach, Portland, Oregon

Symposium Description

The 2020 symposium brought together some of Oregon’s leading thinkers to predict the state’s evolving job landscape and foresee the next decade’s safety and health challenges.  Our goal was to provide a forward-looking basis for the development of prevention strategies.Over 140 attendees participated in this thought-provoking day, beginning with a keynote presentation by Dr. John Howard, Director of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). If you missed the event or would like to learn about lunch groups that you may not have been able to attend, please view the materials below.


Agenda & Presentations


8:30 -  8:45  Welcome: Peter S. Spencer (Director, CROET)

8:45 -  9:30  Keynote: The Future of Occupational Safety and Health: John Howard, M.D., M.P.H., J.D., LL.M. (Director of NIOSH 2002-2008)

9:30 - 9:50  Oregon's Workforce in 2020:  Art Ayre, Oregon’s State Employment Economist

9:50 - 10:15 Break

10:15 - 10:35  Occupational Worker Compensation Trends: John Shilts, Oregon Department of Consumers and Business Services, Workers Compensation Division

10:40 - 11:15  Panel Discussion: How Will Jobs Change 2009 - 2020?
(View Morning Panel Discussion Summary)

  • Art Ayre (Oregon Employment Division)
  • John Shilts (Administrator, Workers Compensation Division, DCBS)
  • Tom Chamberlain, (President, Oregon AFL-CIO Executive Board)
  • Bob Bussell (University of Oregon Labor Education and Research Center)
  • Gary Baysinger (Gunderson)
  • Dawn Jones (Construction Manager/Lead Trainer, Oregon Tradeswomen, Inc.)

11:15 - 12:45  Lunch Work Groups: Cross-Cutting Issues for Oregon

 12:45 - 1:00  Reporting out by Cross-Cutting Issues Work Groups

 1:00  -  2:45  Panel Discussion: Occupational Safety and Health in the Future Workplace
(View Afternoon Panel Discussion Summary)

  • Chuck Easterly (SAIF Corp)
  • John Howard (CDC)
  • Sheri Sundstrom (Hoffman Construction)
  • Abby Solomon (SEIU)
  • Greg Miller (Gunderson)
  • Michael Wood (Oregon OSHA)
  • Gail Shibley (Oregon DHS)
  • Anthony Veltri (Oregon State University)
  • Rick Deyo (OHSU)

 2:45 -  3:00  Conference Wrap Up: Michael Wood, Administrator, Oregon OSHA

Conference Planning Committee

Leda Garside, RN, BSN , Tuality HealthCare Salud
Sheri Sundstrom, Hoffman Construction
Bob Shiprack, Oregon State Building & Construction Trades Council
Chuck Easterly, SAIF Corp.
Steve Eversmeyer, Port of Portland
Gail Shibley, Oregon Public Health Division
Richard Deyo, MD, MPH, Program Director, Community & Practice Res. Program, OHSU
Marilyn Schuster, Oregon OSHA
Ellis Brasch, Oregon OSHA
Michael Wood, Oregon OSHA
Peter Spencer, CROET
Kent Anger, CROET
Dede Montgomery, CROET