OHSU Division of Hospital Medicine


The Division of Hospital Medicine is part of the Department of Medicine at Oregon Health & Science University and is comprised of the Inpatient Medicine Teaching Service (MTS), the Clinical Hospitalist Service (CHS), and the Preoperative Medicine Clinic (PMC).

The outstanding faculty are characterized by their infectious enthusiasm, boundless curiosity, engaging and respectful personalities, expertise as clinicians and educators, and a tendency to cycle-commute to work.  We are dedicated to serving the people of Oregon by providing excellent clinical care, and serving the region and the nation through research and education.

The Division has over 25 hospitalist faculty and has been expanding since its formal creation in 2005.  Rebecca Harrison, MD is Section Chief for the OHSU section of Hospital Medicine and Alan J. Hunter, MD is the Head of the Division of Hospital Medicine at OHSU.

Redesigning Service Delivery through the Tri-County Health Commons

Honora Endlander, MD

Dr. Honora Englander from the Division of Hospital Medicine is co-principal investigator with Dr. David Labby on a $17.3 million grant that includes support to implement transitional care improvements modeled on C-TraIn at Portland area hospitals.

The goal of the grant is to implement and scale up health system improvements, with a focus on transitional care, in the tricounty area for Medicaid Adults.

The grant runs through June, 2015.