Board of Directors

Maria Pope, Chairwoman

Maria Pope

Senior Vice President of power supply, operations and resource strategy for PGE

Maria Pope joined PGE in 2009 as senior vice president of finance, chief financial officer and treasurer and served on PGE’s Board of Directors from 2006 to 2008.

Prior to joining PGE, Maria was the chief financial officer of Mentor Graphics Corp. She has also served in senior operating and finance positions within the forest products and international consumer products industries.  She began her career with Morgan Stanley in New York and Tokyo.

Maria serves on the boards of Umpqua Holdings Corporation and Pope Resources LLP and previously served on the boards of Premera Blue Cross, TimberWest, the Council of Forest Industries, FM Global and the Oregon Symphony.  She is a graduate of the Stanford Graduate School of Business and earned her bachelor’s degree from Georgetown University.

David V. Yaden, Vice Chairman

David V. Yaden

Retired executive director of policy and planning at Tri-Met

David V. Yaden was appointed to the board of directors of OHSU in October, 2009. He also serves on the Oregon State Board of Higher Education. Now retired, he has more than 35 years experience in public affairs in Oregon. In addition to chairing the Sustainability Initiative Committee of the State Board of Higher Education, he is on the board and has been chair of Sightline Institute, a regional sustainability think tank based in Seattle. He has also been an independent public policy consultant and international environmental advisor; served as director of the Oregon Department of Energy; worked in corporate planning in the private sector; served as special assistant to the U.S. Secretary of Transportation, and as chief-of-staff to a U.S. Congressman; owned his own public opinion research firm; and worked in various local government positions.

Ken Allen

Ken Allen

Retired Executive Director, Oregon AFSCME Council 75

Ken Allen has been the Oregon AFSCME executive director since 1995. He is a member of the board of Inside Oregon Enterprises and is a former Port of Portland commissioner.

Ana Brar

Anna Brar
M.D. Candidate, Class of 2019

Ana Brar is currently a third year medical student at OHSU. Prior to medical school, she attended Oregon State University, where she studied Biochemistry and Biophysics, and served on the Student Alumni Association Board of Directors. She has served as a consultant for Area Health Education Center of SW Oregon. She is currently chair of the Oregon Medical Association Student Section, and recruitment chair for the OHSU chapter of the American Medical Association. Ana has professional interests in the business and management of healthcare systems, public health and policy, and translational research.

Prashant Dubey

Prashant Dubey

President and CEO, The Sumati Group

Prashant Dubey joined the OHSU Board November 2013. He leads The Sumati Group, which is a strategy consulting firm with clients in the pharmaceutical, bioscience, and high technology sectors, including large global companies with some of the most recognized brands in the world. He has an extensive background in health care strategy and operations consulting. Prior to being appointed CEO of The Sumati Group, Dubey was a senior operating executive for public as well as private high-growth companies such as Baxter International, Fios, Covansys, ProSight, Tripwire and ABC Technologies.

Wayne Monfries

Wayne Monfries

Vice President and Chief Tax Officer, Nike, Inc.

A graduate of Georgetown University, he has over 28 years of experience in tax and accounting. Wayne has been with NIKE for the last nine years after beginning his career at the accounting firm, PWC (formerly Coopers & Lybrand) in Washington, D.C.

Joe Robertson, M.D., M.B.A.


President, OHSU
Ex Officio

Joe Robertson, M.D., M.B.A., appointed OHSU's president in 2006, has led numerous initiatives aimed at providing improved health care access to Oregonians. Other professional interests include the development of healthcare delivery systems and the application of cost accounting principles to medical practice, with the goal of reducing expenses for care while enhancing patient outcomes. He began at OHSU as a resident in 1979 and held numerous posts, including director of the Casey Eye Institute, and most recently, dean of the School of Medicine. Robertson is an acclaimed surgeon and researcher who has participated in numerous clinical trials.

Frank Toda

Frank Toda, Ph.D.

President of Columbia Gorge Community College

Frank Toda has been President of Columbia Gorge Community College since 2001, and is a nationally known educator. He was the only individual college president from Oregon to be invited to the first-ever White House Summit on Community Colleges and was recognized as one of the first college presidents to embrace the President’s initiatives to grow American entrepreneurship. He also served 10 consecutive terms on the review board for the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award – a board that reports directly to the President of the United States.

Amy Tykeson

Amy Tykeson

Managing trustee for the Tykeson Family Charitable Trust

Amy Tykeson is managing trustee of a family foundation contributing to education, health care and the arts. She serves on regional boards and committees, including Economic Development for Central Oregon, the Central Oregon Regional Solutions Advisory Committee and Looking Forward. She served as CEO and president of BendBroadband for the past 34 years and through industry involvement and advocacy she has helped shape national telecom policy. Family-owned BendBroadband was sold in 2014. She has served on the board of directors of the National Cable and Telecommunications Association, CableLabs, C-SPAN and Oregon Cable Telecommunications Association and has been a trustee for the Catlin Gabel School and The Nature Conservancy of Oregon.