Dermatologic Surgery

Surgical Dermatology Fellowship

The Micrographic Surgery and Dermatology Oncology (Mohs) Fellowship at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) is a one-year training program accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME).  Under the direction of Anna Bar, M.D.,  Fellowship Program Director, and with the support of Neil A. Swanson, M.D. and Justin Leitenberger, M.D., the curriculum emphasizes comprehensive clinical training in cutaneous surgery and oncology.

The fellow participates in a variety of dermatologic surgery unit activities located at OHSU and the Portland Veterans Affairs Medical Center (VAMC). These include Mohs micrographic surgery, reconstructive surgery, dermatologic laser surgery, dermabrasion, sclerotherapy, scar revision, filler materials and other procedures such as destructions, biopsies, cryotherapy, excisions and nail surgery.

During the training program, the fellow completes a minimum of 500 cases on a multitude of different skin cancer cases.

Surgical Dermatology Faculty

Anna A. Bar, M.D.Anna Bar, M.D., Program Director

Application Process

The Advanced Dermatologic Surgery Fellowship Program at OHSU participates in the San Francisco MatchExternal Link Icon. Any applications that are late or received after the deadline will not be considered. If you are selected for an interview, you will be scheduled to visit OHSU to meet faculty and staff, and to learn more about Portland.


  • Successful completion of an accredited three-year dermatology residency program
  • Eligibility for Oregon Medical license
  • Current CV (include SF match number)
  • Personal statement
  • OHSU applicationPDF Icon
  • Passport size photograph
  • Dean's letter
  • Three letters of recommendation

Important dates

The surgical dermatology fellowship is filled for the 2015-2016 year. We will start taking applications for the 2016-2017 fellowship in the summer of 2015.

Please send all application materials to:
c/o Shannon Winchester, Program Coordinator
Oregon Health & Science University
Department of Dermatology (CH 16D)
3303 S.W. Bond Avenue
Portland, Oregon 97239

Phone: 503-494-1375
Fax: 503-346-8106


Bridget Hartman, M.D.


2013-2014 - Iren Kossintseva, M.D.
2012-2013 - Justin Leitenberger, M.D.
2011-2012 - Victoria Sharon, M.D.
2010-2011 - Nicholas Snavely, M.D.
2009-2010 - Joseph F. Sobanko, M.D.
2008-2009 - Scott N. Isenhath, M.D.
2007-2008 - Juan-Carlos Martinez, M.D.
2006-2007 - Andrea Willey, M.D.
2005-2006 - Valencia D. Thomas, M.D.
2004-2005 - Weimin Hu, Ph.D., M.D.
2003-2004 - Khosrow (Mark) Mehrany, M.D.
2002-2003 - Annalisa Gorman, M.D.
2001-2002 - Han Lee, M.D.
2000-2001 - Sandeep Varma, M.D.
1999-2000 - William Delgado, M.D.
1998-1999 - Ken K. Lee, M.D.
1997-1998 - Manuel Hernandez, M.D.
1996-1997 - Bruce Russell, M.D.