Core and Primary Faculty

Joan Ash, Ph.D., M.L.S., M.S., M.B.A.

ash

Professor and Vice Chair

Research Interests: Implementation of Clinical Information Systems, Computerized Physician Order Entry.
View Full Profile


 ash@ohsu.edu  | 503-494-4540

Eilis Boudreau, M.D.

Associate Professor

View Full Profile

boudreau@ohsu.edu  |

Amy Cantor, M.D., M.P.H.

Amy Cantor

Assistant Professor

Investigator, Pacific Northwest Evidence Based Practice Center

Research Interests: Women's health, public health, epidemiology, and family medicine. Specific expertise and training in women's health, primary care, and systematic review methodology.

View Full Profile

 

cantor@ohsu.edu  |

Nancy Carney, Ph.D.

NancyCarney_cropped

Research Associate Professor

View Full Profile

 

carneyn@ohsu.edu  |  503-494-4502
 

Michael F. Chiang, M.D.

MChiang

Professor

Research Interests: Telemedicine. Computer-based image analysis for clinical diagnosis. Implementation and evaluation of EHR systems.
View Full Profile

chiangm@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5367



 

Roger Chou, M.D.

Chou_Roger_cropped

Professor

Director, Pacific Northwest Evidence-based Practice Center

Research Interests: Development of evidence-based guidelines for both health screening and the management of pain conditions.

View Full Profile

View Website

chour@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5367


 

Aaron M. Cohen, M.D., M.S.

Aaron Cohen

Professor

Research Interests: Biomedical text-mining, development and application for biomedical researchers.

View Full Profile

View Website

 

cohenaa@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502

David Dorr, M.D., M.S.

David Dorr

Professor and Vice Chair, Clinical Informatics

Research Interests: Care Management Plus, ICCIS, and TOPMED projects: coordination of care for at-risk persons such as older adults, collaborative care, predictive analytics, chronic disease management, and clinical information system requirements to support the above areas.

View Full Profile

View Website

dorrd@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-2387


Karen Eden, Ph.D.

Karen Eden

Professor

Director of Clinical Track in Biomedical Informatics Graduate Program

Research Interests: Patient and clinician decision-making. Design and evaluation of computerized decision aids for obstetrics, mammograms, smoking-cessation, safety planning for abused women, and fertility preservation for young women.

View Full Profile

edenk@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-2456


Paul Gorman, M.D.

gorman

Professor

Research Interests: Use of information by clinicians and experts in real-world problem-solving focused on patient care. Naturalistic decision-making, information needs, distributed cooperative problem-solving, distributed cognition, and social informatics.

View Full Profile

gormanp@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Melissa Haendel, Ph.D.

Melissa Haendel

Associate Professor

Co-Director, OHSU Library

Research Interests: Development of anatomical and phenotype ontologies for relating genotypes to phenotypes, Semantic Web technologies, researcher networking, scientific reproducibility, data curation, and user interface design and testing.

View Full Profile

haendel@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Mark Helfand, M.D., M.P.H.

Helfand

Professor

Research Interests: Use of systematic reviews to inform clinical and public policy, methods for comparative effectiveness research, patient stories.
View Full Profile

 

helfand@ohsu.edu  |  503-494-4502

William Hersh, M.D.

bill_hersh

Professor and Chair

Research Interests: Use of knowledge-based information by healthcare practitioners and researchers. Design of information retrieval systems and educational technologies.

View Full Profile

View Website

hersh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Michelle Hribar, Ph.D.

michellehribar

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Usability for medical informatics and high performance computing applications.

View Full Profile


hribarm@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-0180


Linda Humphrey, M.D., M.P.H.

Professor

View Full Profile

 humphrey@ohsu.edu |


Lisa Karstens, Ph.D., MBI

Karstens headshot

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Using bioinformatics to understand human disease.

View Full Profile

karstens@ohsu.edu | 503-418-8877


Steven Z. Kassakian, M.D., M.S., FACP

Kassakian, Steven

Assistant Professor 

Research Interests: Clinical decision support and health information exchange.

View Full Profile




 kassakia@ohsu.edu | 503-418-0042

Ted Laderas, Ph.D.

Laderas headshot

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Phenotypic Heterogeneity of Cancer and Measurement using Flow Cytometry Methods, Systems Biology of Cancer.  

View Full Profile

 laderast@ohsu.edu

 

Michael Lieberman, M.D.

michael_lieberman

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Clinical quality measurement.

 

 

liebermm@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-2670




Judith Logan, M.D.

logan

Professor Emerita

Research Interests: Dr. Logan's research interests center around the secondary use of clinical data for research, with attention on user interfaces, underlying controlled vocabularies, and data structures.

View Full Profile

View Website

loganju@ohsu.edu  I


Robert Lowe, M.D., M.P.H.

bob-lowe

Professor Emeritus

Research Interests: Relationship between emergency department use and access to primary care, especially among vulnerable populations.

View Full Profile

lowero@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Marian McDonagh, Pharm.D.

mcdonagh

Professor

Research Interests: Comparative systematic reviews methodology and evidence-based medicine as applied to competing interventions.

View Full Profile

mcdonagh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Shannon McWeeney, Ph.D.

McWeeney

Professor and Vice Chair

Head of Division of Bioinformatics & Computational Biology

Research Interests: Development and application of statistical and computational methodologies for functional genomics data such as gene expression (microarray and RNA-seq), chIP-Seq and proteomics.

View Full Profile

View Website

mcweeney@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8347


Vishnu Mohan, M.D., M.B.I.

VishnuMohan

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Dr. Mohan is interested in how clinicians make decisions, how they interact with technology, and how technology influences their decision-making, especially in the context of improving patient safety.

View Full Profile

View Website

mohanv@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4469


Michael Mooney, Ph.D.

Mooney

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Development of statistical and computational methods for understanding how DNA variation influences human disease.

View Full Profile

mooneymi@ohsu.edu 


Cynthia Morris, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Cynthia Morris

Professor and Vice Chair

Research Interests: Etiology and epidemiology of congenital heart disease and epidemiology of cardiovascular disease.

View Full Profile

morrisc@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Heidi Nelson, M.D., M.P.H.

nelson headshot

Research Professor and Vice Chair

Research Interests: Treatment of menopausal symptoms, osteoporosis screening, diagnosis, and treatment, BRCA genetic testing for breast and ovarian cancer susceptibility, and screening for speech and language delay in children, among others.

View Full Profile

 

nelsonh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Kathryn I. Pyle, A.M.L.S., M.A.

Kathryn Pyle

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Scientific writing and communication.

View Full Profile

pylek@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-6058


Robert Schuff, M.S.

RobSchuff

Instructor

Research Interests: Clinical research informatics. Design and implementation of tools and methods for clinical and translational research. Secondary use of clinical data for research.



schuffr@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5654
 

Shelley Selph

Assistant Professor



Xubo Song, Ph.D.

song

Professor

Research Interests: Digital image and video processing; statistical pattern recognition; machine learning; sensor fusion; computer vision; information theory; biomedical engineering.

View Full Profile


songx@ohsu.edu  I  503-708-1311


Annette Totten, Ph.D.

Totten

Assistant Professor

Research Interests:



totten@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


Joanne Valerius, M.P.H., Ph.D.

Joanne Valerius, MPH, PHD

Assistant Professor


Research Interests: Human resource development in health care settings. Her focus is on a holistic approach to the workplace and how diversity impacts the workplace.

View Full Profile

valerius@ohsu.edu  I 


Amanda Vinson, Ph.D.

blank

Research Assistant Professor 

Research Interests: Finding genetic determinants of cardiovascular disease traits that are conserved between macaques and humans, in order to improve human health. Especially interested in identifying genetic influences on lipoprotein cholesterol content, particle function, and adiposity as risk factors for cardiovascular disease in humans

View full profile

vinsona@ohsu.edu | 503-346-5563
 


Nicole G. Weiskopf, Ph.D

nweiskopf headshot cropped

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: The secondary use of electronic health record (EHR) data. Her dissertation work centered on the assessment and reporting of EHR data quality problems and the development of guidelines to improve the validity and transparency of clinical research efforts that rely on clinical data sources.

View Full Profile


 weiskopf@ohsu.edu  |

Beth Wilmot, Ph.D.

Beth Wilmot

Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Development and application of statistical and computational methodologies for analysis of genomic data (gene expression, SNP variation and copy number variation).

View Full Profile

wilmotb@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-7510


Thomas Yackel, M.D., M.S.

yackel

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Applied medical informatics, specifically, the use of clinical information systems to improve patient care.

View Full Profile

yackelt@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8562


Jianji Yang

Assistant Professor

 

  

Christina Zheng, Ph.D.

blank

Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Understanding gene regulatory models in relation to disease progression through the development and application of computational/statistical methods for functional genomics (large scale sequencing, DNA, RNA).

View Full Profile


zheng@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8462