OHSU

Core Faculty

Joan Ash, Ph.D., M.L.S., M.S., M.B.A.

ash

Professor and Vice Chair

Research Areas: Implementation of Clinical Information Systems, Computerized Physician Order Entry.

View Full Profile

View Website

ash@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4540

Nancy Carney, Ph.D.

NancyCarney_cropped

Research Associate Professor

Research Interests:

carneyn@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502





Michael F. Chiang, M.D.

MChiang

Professor

Research Areas: Telemedicine. Computer-based image analysis for clinical diagnosis. Implemntation and evaluation of EHR systems.

View Full Profile

chiangm@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-3087

Roger Chou, M.D.

Chou_Roger_cropped

Professor
Director, Pacific Northwest Evidence-based Practice Center

Research Interests: Development of evidence-based guidelines for both health screening and the management of pain conditions.

View Website

chour@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5367


 


Aaron M. Cohen, M.D., M.S.

AaronMCohenHeadShot_B_W

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Biomedical text-mining, development and application for biomedical researchers.

View Full Profile

View Website

cohenaa@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502


David Dorr, M.D., M.S.

dorr

Associate Professor and Vice Chair, Clinical Informatics

Research Interests: Care Management Plus, ICCIS, and TOPMED projects: coordination of care for at-risk persons such as older adults, collaborative care, predictive analytics, chronic disease management, and clinical information system requirements to support the above areas.

View Full Profile

View Website

dorrd@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-2387



Karen Eden, Ph.D.

KarenEden

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Patient and clinician decision-making. Design and evaluation of computerized decision aids for obstetrics, mammograms, smoking-cessation, safety planning for abused women, and fertility preservation for young women.

View Full Profile

edenk@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-2456



Mark Engelstad, D.D.S., M.D., M.H.I.

engelstad1

Associate Professor, School of Dentistry

Research Interests: Oral, dental, and cranio-facial related informatics research.

View Full Profile

engelsta@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-3259



Justin Fletcher, Ph.D., M.S.

JustinFletcher

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Policy definition and security implementation related to EHR implementation from the executive perspective.

View Full Profile

fletchju@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4494



Paul Gorman, M.D.

gorman

Professor

Research Interests: Use of information by clinicians and experts in real-world problem-solving focused on patient care. Naturalistic decision-making, information needs, distributed cooperative problem-solving, distributed cognition, and social informatics.

View Full Profile

gormanp@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Jeanne-Marie Guise, M.D., M.P.H.

Dr Guise

Professor

Research Interests:

guisej@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-7351





Melissa Haendel, Ph.D.

Melissa_Haendel_cropped

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Development of anatomical and phenotype ontologies for relating genotypes to phenotypes, Semantic Web technologies, researcher networking, scientific reproducibility, data curation, and user interface design and testing.

View Full Profile

haendel@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Mark Helfand, M.D., M.P.H.

Helfand

Professor

Interests: Use of systematic reviews to inform clinical and public policy.

View Full Profile


helfand@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



William Hersh, M.D.

bill_hersh

Professor and Chair

Research Interests: Use of knowledge-based information by healthcare practitioners and researchers. Design of information retrieval systems and educational technologies.

View Full Profile

View Website

hersh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Michelle Hribar, Ph.D.

michellehribar

Instructor

Research Interests: Usability for medical informatics and high performance computing applications.

View Full Profile

hribarm@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-0180



Jayashree Kalpathy-Cramer, Ph.D., M.S.

Kalpathy-Cramer

Adjunct Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Use of image processing and machine learning techniques for medical image analysis and retrieval, imaging for radiation therapy and survival analysis for cancer.

View Full Profile

kalpathy@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-3731



Michael Lieberman, M.D.

michael_lieberman

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Clinical quality measurement.

liebermm@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-2670





Judith Logan, M.D.

logan

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Dr. Logan's research interests center around the secondary use of clinical data for research, with attention on user interfaces, underlying controlled vocabularies, and data structures.

View Full Profile

View Website

loganju@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5902



Robert Lowe, M.D., M.P.H.

bob-lowe

Professor

Research Interests: Relationship between emergency department use and access to primary care, especially among vulnerable populations.

View Full Profile

View Website

lowero@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-7134



Marian McDonagh, Pharm.D.

mcdonagh

Professor

Research Interests: Comparative systematic reviews methodology and evidence-based medicine as applied to competing interventions.

View Full Profile

mcdonagh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Shannon McWeeney, Ph.D.

McWeeney

Professor and Head of Division of Bioinformatics & Computational Biology

Research Interests: Development and application of statistical and computational methodologies for functional genomics data such as gene expression (microarray and RNA-seq), chIP-Seq and proteomics.

View Full Profile

View Website

mcweeney@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8347



Vishnu Mohan, M.B.B.S., M.B.I.

VishnuMohan

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Dr. Mohan is interested in how clinicians make decisions, how they interact with technology, and how technology influences their decision-making.

View Full Profile

View Website

mohanv@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4469



Michael Mooney, Ph.D.

Mooney

Instructor

Research Interests: Development of statistical and computational for understanding how DNA variation influences human disease.

View Full Profile

mooneymi@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-2248



Cynthia Morris, Ph.D., M.P.H.

morris

Professor and Vice Chair

Research Interests: Etiology and epidemiology of congenital heart disease and epidemiology of cardiovascular disease.

View Full Profile

morrisc@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Heidi Nelson, M.D., M.P.H.

nelson

Research Professor

Research Interests: Treatment of menopausal symptoms, osteoporosis screening, diagnosis, and treatment, BRCA genetic testing for breast and ovarian cancer susceptibility, and screening for speech and language delay in children, among others.

View Full Profile

nelsonh@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Susan Norris, M.D., M.P.H.

Image not available

Associate Professor

Research Interests: The use of nonrandomized studies for questions of intervention benefit; the effect of financial and intellectual conflict of interest on selective outcome reporting and clinical practice guideline recommendations.

View Full Profile

norriss@ohsu.edu  I  503-418-1432



Kathryn I. Pyle, A.M.L.S., M.A.

Pyle

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Scientific writing and communication.

View Full Profile

pylek@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Robert Schuff, M.S.

RobSchuff

Instructor 

Research Interests: Clinical research informatics. Design and implementation of tools and methods for clinical and translational research. Secondary use of clinical data for research.

schuffr@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-5654


Zak Shafran, Ph.D.

shafran

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Speech recognition, spoken language processing, language-based functional assessment, and spoken term detection.

View Full Profile

shafrani@ohsu.edu  I  503-748-1158



Xubo Song, Ph.D.

song

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Digital image and video processing; statistical pattern recognition; machine learning; sensor fusion; computer vision; information theory; biomedical engineering.

View Full Profile

songx@ohsu.edu  I  503-708-1311



Kemal Sonmez, Ph.D.

sonmez

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Computational biology and automatic speech recognition, areas which are at the forefront of CSLU and CSEE. Primary areas of expertise include systems theory, information theory, machine learning, pattern recognition, neural computation, and statistical signal processing. 

sonmezk@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Annette Totten, Ph.D.

Totten

Adjunct Research Assistant Professor

Research Interests:

totten@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-4502



Joanne Valerius, M.P.H.

joanne_valerius

Assistant Professor

Research Interests: Human resource development in health care settings. Her focus is on a holistic approach to the workplace and how diversity impacts the workplace.

View Full Profile

valerius@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-6019



Beth Wilmot, Ph.D.

Beth Wilmot

Instructor

Research Interests: Development and application of statistical and computational methodologies for analysis of genomic data (gene expression, SNP variation and copy number variation).

View Full Profile

wilmotb@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-7510



Thomas Yackel, M.D., M.S.

yackel

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Applied medical informatics, specifically, the use of clinical information systems to improve patient care.

View Full Profile

yackelt@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8562



Christina Zheng, Ph.D.

Image not available

Associate Professor

Research Interests: Understanding gene regulatory models in relation to disease progression through the development and application of computational/statistical methods for functional genomics (large scale sequencing, DNA, RNA).

View Full Profile

zheng@ohsu.edu  I  503-494-8462