Presidential Search

A view of Oregon Health & Science University from Portland's South Waterfront District.


OHSU's Board of Directors is currently recruiting for OHSU's top executive post.

The current OHSU President Joe Robertson, M.D., M.B.A. recently announced his retirement after nearly 40 years of service to OHSU. His retirement becomes effective June 15, 2018. 

A national recruitment has been launched to find an individual qualified to lead OHSU, which is one of the nation's few universities dedicated solely to advancing health sciences. The following are among the key distinguishing features of OHSU: 

  • Is a public health sciences university and Oregon's only academic health center
  • Ranks among the largest employers in Oregon and is the largest employer in the city of Portland
  • Operates the top ranked adult and children's hospitals in Oregon1
  • Has been named one of the world's most innovative universities2
  • Is among the top 10 nationally across multiple graduate degree programs1
  • Secured more than $400 million in research funding in 2017
  • Consistently has the highest public favorability of any university and any health care system in Oregon3
The OHSU President is appointed by the OHSU Board of Directors, which has determined a process for recruiting and selecting candidates for consideration. The Board has launched a national search, appointing board Vice-Chair David Yaden as chair of the search committee. OHSU has retained the nationally recognized executive search firm Korn Ferry to ensure a diverse, qualified candidate pool.

A search committee has been named by the board and is charged with providing a diverse and talented pool of applicants for the board's consideration. Committee members will also have special training in avoiding unconscious bias in hiring processes.

1 U.S. News and World Report 2017 rankings
2 Reuters 2016 rankings
3 DHM statewide public opinion polls 2010, 2012 and 2015

Learn more

Position Description Share your thoughts

David V. YadenA message from the Chair of the Presidential Search Committee:

I have the honor to lead the search process that will lead to the hiring of OHSU's next president. As a longtime Oregon resident and member of the OHSU Board of Directors for the last nine years, I am looking forward to hearing from Oregonians about what they think are important qualities for OHSU's next leader and priorities for OHSU as our state and our nation continue their debates about the future of health care. Please send me a note at the e-mail below sharing your thoughts.


David Yaden, Chair, OHSU Presidential Search Committee

About OHSU Search Committee Roster and Executive Search Firm

Search Committee Chair

David Yaden, OHSU Board Member

Search Committee Members

Wayne Monfries, OHSU Board Member

Amy Tykeson, OHSU Board Member

Ana Brar, OHSU Board Member

Ann Edlen, Chair, OHSU Foundation Board of Directors

Diana Gernhart, Senior Vice President, OHSU Hospital Chief Financial Officer

Marc Freeman, Ph.D., Director, Vollum Institute

Susan Bakewell–Sachs, Ph.D., R.N., Dean, OSHU School of Nursing

David Wilson, M.D., Director, OHSU Casey Eye Institute

Brian Druker, M.D., Director, Knight Cancer Institute

Brian Gibbs Ph.D., Vice President, Equity & Inclusion, Assoc. Professor, OHSU/PSU School of Public Health

Jennifer DeVoe, M.D., Chair, Family Medicine

Susan Hayflick, M.D., Chair of the Department of Molecular and Medical Genetics

Derick Du Vivier, M.D., Asst. Professor of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine, President Faculty Senate

David Robinson Ph.D., OHSU Executive Vice-Provost

Michael Schill, J.D., President, University of Oregon

Rahmat Shoureshi, Ph.D., President, Portland State University

Matt Hilton, Call Center Representative, OHSU Information Technology Group, Local AFSCME President

Clarice Gerlach, R.N. Cardiovascular, ICU, Local Oregon Nurses Association President

Paul Stewart, Chief Executive Officer, SkyLakes Medical Center


Executive Search Firm 
Interested parties should contact either of the Korn Ferry representatives below: