Paxton Professorship

Paxton International Professor 2011:

Marc Sindou, M.D., D.Sc.SindouBW_web

Dr. Sindou, professor and chair of the Department of Neurosurgery, University of Lyon, Hopital Neurologique P. Wertheimer, Lyon, France will visit OHSU September 16-24, 2011.

Dr. Sindou has been a neurosurgeon for more than 35 years. His neurosurgical interests include: functional and stereotactic neurosurgery, neuro-oncology, neurovascular compressions, and neurophysiology as applied to neurosurgery.

He is a founding member of the International Association for the Study of Pain. He has previously been president (1997 - 2001) and past-president (2001 - 2005) of the World Society for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery, vice-president of the European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (1999 - 2003), and president of the French Speaking Neurosurgical Society (2007-2010).

Dr. Sindou has published more than 560 peer reviewed articles and is member of the editorial boards of a number of prestigious international journals.

He has previously been an invited lecturer in 49 different countries and has been honored by: the European Association of Neurosurgical Societies with a European Lecture Award in 2007, the World Society for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery with a Spiegel-Wycis Award in 2009, and the World Federation of Neurosurgical Societies with an Award of the ten Masters in Neurosurgery, also in 2009.

Dr. Sindou will lecture on:
Saturday, September 17th, 2011
Center for Health & Healing (3rd Floor)
3303 SW Bond Avenue, Portland OR

The Paxton International Professorship: A Bridge to Worldwide Neurosurgical Education

The Harold D. Paxton International Professorship in Neurological Surgery Education was created by the OHSU Department of Neurological Surgery to honor Dr. Paxton’s dedication to international neurosurgical education.

In keeping with Dr. Paxton’s philosophy and approach to neurological surgery education, this endowed professorship supports the implementation, development and advancement of the academic training program of the OHSU Department of Neurological Surgery.

On a yearly basis, an academic neurological surgeon with an international reputation for education, innovation and use of state-of-the art approaches to neurosurgical teaching techniques will be invited to fill this unique professorship.

Harold PaxtonHarold D. Paxton, M.D.

Harold D. Paxton’s distinguished medical career has spanned more than 50 years. Dr. Paxton joined the faculty of the School of Medicine at Oregon Health & Science University in 1956 as a clinical assistant professor in the Division of Neurosurgery. In 1967, he was appointed professor and head of the division, retiring in 1991 as professor emeritus.

Dr. Paxton’s academic accomplishments have been widely praised by his colleagues and peers. He pioneered major advancements in neurological surgery research and surgical techniques; published numerous books, monographs and articles; and provided strong leadership to the OHSU neurological surgery teaching faculty in their training of graduate residents preparing for neurosurgical careers. As a professor of neurosurgery, teacher and mentor, Dr. Paxton has profoundly influenced many neurosurgeons throughout his career and at OHSU. It is among his former students that “Pax” is held with the highest regard and deepest respect for his professionalism, expertise, compassion and humanism. In addition to his highly respected career as a physician and educator, Dr. Paxton has a deep interest in international neurosurgical education. During his career, he served as a visiting professor at the University of Nairobi in Kenya, where he established one of the first neurosurgical programs in Africa and also served as an advisor to the University of Nigeria, Benin City where he helped establish that country’s first medical school. A graduate of Princeton University and Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Dr. Paxton served as a neurosurgeon in the U.S. Army Medical Corps, retiring with the reserve grade of colonel.

Past Harold D. Paxton International Professors

  • 2011 — Marc Sindou,  M.D., D.Sc. (France)
  • 2009 — Neil Kitchen, M.D. (England)
  • 2007 — Neville Knuckey, M.D. (Australia)
  • 2006 — Yücel Kanpolat, M.D (Turkey)