Graduate Studies Faculty

« Back to Search List

Brian J. Druker, MD

Director, OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Admin Unit: The Knight Cancer Institute
Phone: 503-494-5596
Lab Phone: 503-494-5599
Fax: 503-494-3688
Office: Biomedical Research Building 513
Mail Code: L592
Cell & Developmental Biology
Program in Molecular & Cellular Biosciences
Cancer Biology
Research Interests:
cancer biology, cell biology, chemical biology, drug development, drug metabolism, genetics, pharmacokinetics, signal transduction » Click here for more about Dr. Druker's research
Preceptor Rotations
Dr. Druker has not indicated availability for preceptor rotations at this time.
Faculty Mentorship
Dr. Druker is available as a mentor for 2016-2017. Dr. Druker is available as a mentor for 2017-2018.

Dr. Brian Druker is Director of the Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) Knight Cancer Institute, JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research at OHSU, and an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Upon graduating from the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine in 1981, Dr. Druker completed his internship and residency in internal medicine at Barnes Hospital, Washington School of Medicine in St. Louis, Missouri. He then trained in oncology at Harvard's Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Dr. Druker then returned to the lab to begin his research career studying the regulation of the growth of cancer cells and the practical application to cancer therapies. His work was instrumental in the development of Gleevec (imatinib), a drug that targets the molecular defect in chronic myeloid leukemia (CML). After completing a series of preclinical studies, Dr. Druker spearheaded the highly successful clinical trials of imatinib for CML. Imatinib is currently FDA approved for CML and gastrointestinal stromal tumors (GIST). His role in the development of imatinib and its application in the clinic have resulted in numerous awards for Dr. Druker, including the John J. Kenney Award from The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, the AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award, the Warren Alpert Prize from Harvard Medical School, the American Society of Hematology’s Dameshek Prize, the Lance Armstrong Foundation’s Pioneer of Survivorship Carpe Diem Award, the American Cancer Society’s Medal of Honor, the Kettering Prize from General Motors Cancer Research Foundation, the David A. Karnofsky Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology, the Robert-Koch Award, and the Keio Medical Science Prize from the Keio University Medical Science Fund. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies in 2003, the American Association of Physicians in 2006, and the National Academy of Sciences in 2007.