Investigator Bios

The investigators of the OHSU Rare Disorders Research Consortium have diverse backgrounds and come from a variety of departments on campus to form an interdisciplinary group. 


Rare Disorders Research Consortium Chairs

Susan J. Hayflick, MD

Dr. Hayflick is a professor of Molecular and Medical Genetics, Pediatrics, and Neurology at OHSU and is chair for the Department of Molecular and Medical Genetics. She serves as the Director of the OHSU Human Genetics Initiative and the Program Director for Human Genetics and Translational Technologies and Resources at the Oregon Clinical and Translational Research Institute. Her research focus is a group of rare, single gene disorders, called Neurodegeneration with Brain Iron Accumulation (NBIA).

Maureen Hoatlin, PhD, MBA

Dr. Hoatlin is an Associate Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, and Molecular & Medical Genetics at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU). She is a member of the strategic planning leadership for OHSU's School of Medicine, the Hematologic Malignancies Program, advisory board member of the Oregon Translational Research and Development Institute, and founding co-chair of the OHSU Rare Disease Consortium. Dr. Hoatlin is interested in developing industry-academic partnerships aimed at using rare disease research to de-risk drug development. Her laboratory is interested in understanding the molecular function of the Fanconi anemia (FA) protein network in context with other proteins that regulate or influence genomic stability.

Melissa Haendel, PhD

Dr. Haendel is the Director of the Ontology Development Group within the OHSU Library and Department of Medical Informatics and Epidemiology and the Principal investigator of the Monarch Initiative. Dr. Haendel’s work is focused on the integration of diverse biological data with a goal of accelerated disease discovery and diagnosis. She is an avid proponent for open science and is working to improve biological research to impact human health.

Rare Disorders Research Consortium Steering Committee

Rare Disorders Research Consortium Members