The Provider Order Entry Team (POET) is based in the Department of Medical informatics and Clinical Epidemiology (DMICE) at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU). It consists of representatives from a variety of healthcare-related disciplines. Membership of the team varies over time, but all members use research methods which consist of cross-site comparisons using multiple qualitative and quantitative data-gathering techniques to assess implementation issues regarding POE. The team won the first annual AMIA Diana Forsythe Award in 2000 for their paper "Multiple Perspectives on Physician Order Entry."


POET is pleased to welcome our newest member - Deborah Cohen!

Current POET Members

  • Joan Ash, Ph.D., Professor, OHSU
  • Dean. F. Sittig, Ph.D., Professor, University of Texas
  • Adam Wright, Ph.D., Instructor, Harvard Medical School
  • Arwen Bunce, M.A., Ethnographer, OHSU
  • Carmit McMullen, Ph.D., Kaiser Center for Health Research
  • James McCormack, MT(ASCP), NLM Doctoral Fellow, OHSU
  • Michael Shapiro, M.A., M.S., Project Manager, OHSU
  • Joe Wasserman, B.A., Research Assistant, OHSU
  • Vishnu Mohan, M.D., Assistant Professor, OHSU
  • Deborah Cohen, Ph.D., Associate Professor, OHSU

POET Consultants

  • Kenneth Guappone, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Jim Carpenter, R.Ph., M.S

Emeritus POET Members

  • Jason Lyman, M.D., M.S.P.
  • Zoë Stavri, Ph.D.
  • W. Paul Nichol, M.D.
  • Susan Poulsen, Ph.D.
  • Mary Lavelle, M.S.N.
  • William Hersh, M.D.
  • Paul Gorman, M.D.
  • Joshua Richardson, Ph.D., M.S., M.L.I.S.
  • Lara Fournier, M.S.
  • Veena Seshadri, M.Sc.
  • Emily Campbell, Ph.D., R.N., M.S.
  • Richard Dykstra, M.D., M.S [Deceased]
  • Cody Curtis, M.B.A. [Deceased]

Grants, Funding and Supporters

POET is funded by grants from the National Library of Medicine and receives funding through the CDS Consortium from the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality.

cds consortium bluebackg-03052008-iz
Contract # HHSA290200810010

Grant numbers LM006942, ASMM10031