The William & Carmela Riker Memorial Lecture


This fund was established in 1981 to honor the memory of Carmela Louise Riker, the wife of Dr. William K. Riker, chair of Pharmacology at OHSU for 21 years. Through her activities in the Medical School Alliance and OHSU Volunteer Services, Mrs. Riker made important contributions to enhancing patient facilities and supporting medical students. Following the death in 2004 of William Riker, the Riker family and the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology decided to honor his memory by renaming the fund. This lectureship supports an annual invited lecture by a distinguished scientist and educator in the field of pharmacology. The annual lectures are supported by the income from The William K. and Carmela L. Riker Memorial Lecture Fund of the OHSU Foundation. The Lecture Fund was initially established through the many generous donations of friends, family, colleagues and organizations. The Lecture Fund principal continues to grow because of ongoing donations in Dr. and Mrs. Riker's memory.Contributions may be made to the OHSU Foundation William K. and Carmela L. Riker Memorial Lecture Fund.

Date Speaker Topic
2013 Karl Deisseroth, M.D., Ph.D.
D.H. Chen Professor of Bioengineering
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Stanford University
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
"Optical Deconstruction of Fully-assembled Biological Systems"
2012 Bruce D. Hammock, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor of Entomology
Department of Entomology and Cancer Center
University of California, Davis
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
"Soluble Epoxide Hydrolase as a Target for Treating Inflammation and Pain"
2011 Angela Hartley Brodie, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
University of Maryland

"Aromatase Inhibitors and Breast Cancer - Concept to Clinic"
Lawrence J. Marnett, Ph.D.
Mary Geddes Stahlman Professor of Cancer Research
Professor of Biochemistry
Professor of Chemistry
Vanderbilt University

"Endocannabinoids as Substrates and Probes for the Function of Cyclooxygenase-2"
Allan E. Rettie, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Medicinal Chemistry
University of Washington

"Warfarin Pharmacogenomics: A Model for Personalized Medicine"
2008 David Colquhoun, Ph.D.
Department of Pharmacology
University College London
Fellow of the Royal Society

"On the nature of partial agonism: single channels allow a new way of looking at an old problem"
2007 Garret A. FitzGerald, M.D.
Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Director, Center for Experimental Therapeutics & Clinical Research Center
Director, Institute for Translational Medicine & Therapeutics
University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA
"Cyclooxygenases: Their Products and Inhibitors"
2006 Bert W. O'Malley, M.D.
Tom Thompson Professor and Chair, Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology
Director, Baylor Center for Reproductive Biology
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX
"The Biological and Medical Implications of Steroid Receptor Coactivators"
2005 Bradley J. Undem, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine at John Hopkins University
"Pharmacology of Vagal Sensory Nerve Activation"
Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology
Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago, IL
"The Mystery of Postsynaptic D2 Receptor Signaling in the Striatum"
2003 Darrell R. Abernethy, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Laboratory of Clinical Investigation
National Institute on Aging, National Institutes of Health Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology and Molecular Science
John Hopkins Univ. School of Medicine
Structural Diversity of the L-Type Calcium Channel: Relating Structure to Function for Pharmacology and Physiology
2002 Brian J. Druker, M.D.
JELD-WEN Chair of Leukemia Research
Knight Cancer Institute, OHSU
2009 Lasker-Debakey Clinical Medical Research Award
Howard Hughes Investigator
Member of the National Academy of Sciences

Targeted Cancer Therapies: Lessons Learned from ST1571 and Chronic Mylogenous Leukemia
 2001 Ronald Evans, Ph.D.
March of Dimes Chair in Developmental and Molecular Biology
Professor in the Gene Expression Laboratory
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2004 Lasker Basic Science Award
Member of the National Academy of Sciences
Nuclear Receptors, SXR and the Xenobiotic Response
2000 Robert Freedman, M.D.
Human Medical Genetics Program
University of Colorado Health Sciences Center
Nicotinic Receptors in Schizophrenia
1999 Frances M. Leslie, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Anatomy and Neurobiology
Director, Transdisciplinary Tobacco Use Research Center
University of California, Irvine
The Influence of Nicotine on Brain Development
1998 Barry J. Hoffer, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief, Cellular Neurophysiology Section, Intramural Research Section, National Institute on Drug Abuse
Glial Cell Line-Derived Neurotrophic Factor and Dopamine Neurons
1996 Hazel Hon Szeto, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacology
Weill Cornell Medical College,
Cornell University
Mechanisms of Dynorphin-Mediated Release of Adrenocorticotrophin
1995 Raymond L. Woosley, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Georgetown University School of Medicine
Prescriptions, Pills and Blind Faith
1994 V. Craig Jordan, Ph.D., D.Sc
Professor of Cancer Pharmacology
Director, Breast Cancer Research Program, Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center
Northwestern University Medical School
Antiestrogens: Targeted Tools in Molecular Biology and Therapeutic Applications for Breast Cancer, Coronary Heart Disease and Osteoporosis
1993 F. Peter Guengerich, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry
Director, Center in Molecular Toxicity
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Human Cytochrome p450 Enzymes: Characterization, Properties and Relevance to Drug Metabolism and Efficacy
1992 R. Alan North, M.D., Ph.D. Potassium Channels: The First 50 Years and the Last 5 Months
1991 William W. Fleming, Ph.D.
Professor of Pharmacology
West Virginia University School of Medicine
Adaptation of Myenteric Neurons to Chronic Exposure to Morphine
1990 Elliot S. Vesell, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Pennsylvania State University College of Medicine
Causes and Consequences of Variations in Drug Response
1989 Sydney Spector, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry and Pharmacology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Presence of Endogenous Opiate Alkaloids in Mammalian Tissues
1988 Joseph Larner, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
University of Virginia
Insulin Signaling Mechanisms: Altered Polypeptide Phosphorylation and Mediator Production
1987 Robert F. Furchgott, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology
SUNY Health Science Center, Brooklyn, NY
Endothelium-Dependent Vasodilation and the Endothelium-Derived Relaxing Factor
1986 Philip Needleman, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Washington University School of Medicine
Atriopeptins: Cardiac Hormones Involved in Fluid, Electrolyte, and Blood Pressure Regulation
1984 Paul Calabresi, M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Medicine, Brown University
Director, Brown University Cancer Center
Cancer: Crab or Chimera? The Clinical Implications of Cancer Cell Heterogeneity
1983 Avram Goldstein, M.D.
Professor of Pharmacology
Director, Addiction Research Foundation
Stanford University
The Dynorphin Peptins and the Kappa Opioid Receptor
1982 Walter F. Riker, Jr., M.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Pharmacology
Weill Medical College, Cornell University
Reflections on Pharmacologic and Other Effects of Curare