Two Physiology and Pharmacology students named as 2018 ARCS Scholars

Michael Berry and Sunil Joshi, PhD students in the Physiology and Pharmacology PhD program, were recently named as 2018 ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientist) Foundation Scholars. Read more.


Chemical Biology and Physiology Summer Undergraduate Research Program (CBP-SURP)

The second annual Chemical Biology and Physiology Summer Undergraduate Research Program (CBP-SURP) was a success! Undergraduate students from various universities participated in an 8-week summer program designed to provide undergraduates research opportunities at the interface of chemistry, biology and physiology in the health sciences.

 CRP_SURP students
From left to right:
Wesley Kao, Alyssa Bonillas, Madeline Otto, Emma Lederer, Jordan Hiblar, Joanne Tran

Now recruiting postdoctoral researchers

OHSU is now recruiting for interdisciplinary biomedical postdoctoral researchers through the Dean's Research Scholar Program (DRSP). The Department of Physiology and Pharmacology is a participating department in the DRSP and welcomes applicants interested in interdisciplinary research involving chemical biology and/or pharmacology. The application deadline is November 25, 2018. For details on the program and application requirements click here.


Upcoming Events


Ilsa Kirby
to Ilsa Kirby, graduate student in the Cohen lab, on her first first author paper published in Cell Chemical Biology.

Highlighted publication Aicher lab

cell image






New research suggests that even a limited exposure to cocaine can fundamentally alter a delicate molecular net that surrounds brain cells associated with addiction, leading to changes in the activity of brain circuits. Read more.

Dr. Cohen receives ICBS Young Chemical Biologist Award

Dr. Michael Cohen, Associate Professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, was recently awarded the International Chemical Biology Society's Young Chemical Biologist award, read more.

Dr. Kelly receives 2018 BIP award


Martin Kelly, Ph.D., professor of physiology and pharmacology, is one of three recipients of the 2018 Biomedical Innovation Program Drug Discovery awards for his research project Novel Alzheimer's Disease Drugs and their TargetRead more.