Dr. Smith elected president of ARVO

Justine_SmithJustine Smith, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Ophthalmology, has been named the 2012-2013 president-elect of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

This is the first time an OHSU physician has held this office since Oregon’s “father of ophthalmology," Dr. Kenneth C. Swan, was elected to the position in 1951. This is a great accomplishment and honor for Dr. Smith, the Casey Eye Institute and for OHSU as a whole. Congratulations Dr. Smith!