OHSU rheumatologists sweep multiple association honors



December 11, 2013

Faculty members and trainees in the Division of Arthritis and Rheumatic Diseases garnered multiple honors in October at the 2013 American College of Rheumatology and Association of Rheumatology Health Professionals (ACR/ARHP) Annual Meeting in San Diego, Calif.

Jim Rosenbaum, M.D., professor of ophthalmology and head of arthritis and rheumatic diseases, received the Distinguished Clinician Scholar award, given to a rheumatologist who has made outstanding contributions in clinical medicine, clinical scholarship or education. Cong-Qiu Chu, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of medicine, was recognized for receiving an ACR Disease Targeted Research Grant, and Pascale Schwab, M.D., associate professor of medicine and director of the rheumatology fellowship program, was acknowledged for receiving an ACR Fellowship Training Grant that supports the expansion of the fellowship program from three fellows to four.

Abhijeet Danve, MBBS, rheumatology fellow, received the Marshall J. Schiff Memorial Fellow Research Award, in recognition of the five abstracts presented at this meeting. Cailin Sibley, M.D., assistant professor of medicine, who was recently recruited from NIH, gave a presentation on Behcet's disease that was attended by nearly 1,000 rheumatologists. Atul Deodhar, M.D., MRCP, professor of medicine, made several presentations, hosted poster tours, and moderated several sessions.

As it turns out, OHSU rheumatologists work well under pressure, too. A team comprised of Dr. Danve, Neha Garg, M.D., an instructor in rheumatology, and Dr. Schwabe (pictured above, l to r)edged out 10 other medical school teams to win the ACR Knowledge Bowl, a Jeopardy-style trivia game. As winners, the team received complementary registration and hotel accommodations for the 2014 ACR/ARHP Annual Meeting, tickets to the 2014 President's reception, and gold medals. The Knowledge Bowl trophy will also be engraved with their names.