Honoring excellence: 2012-2013 SoM faculty and student awards

October 29, 2013

Celebrating the foundation of our institution: our outstanding educators, students and our educational mission

Inspire. Motivate. Challenge. Make a difference. A great teacher can impact a student in many ways while translating knowledge into understanding and sparking a student's future career.

During the annual Faculty Teaching Honors & Student Awards Luncheon held this year on Oct. 29, the School of Medicine honored 15 distinguished School of Medicine faculty members and four students for their outstanding contributions to the school's education mission.

Teaching-2013-035_Gosselin-Finn-webThe atmosphere in the BICC Gallery during this year's event was jovial, as current and past award recipients, faculty colleagues, students, staff and family celebrated with the awardees; George Mejicano, M.D., senior associate dean for education, emceed.

"It's an honor for me to be your emcee but more important is honoring all of the award winners. It truly takes a village to achieve our educational mission. Great mentors demand excellence and push people to be their very best," said Dr. Mejicano. "Arguably, our responsibility is not only to generate discoveries and disseminate them but to provide an incubator for the next generation of physicians and scientists and we could not do that without the people in this room."

2013 Faculty Excellence in Education Awards

Two faculty members received the highest honors; they were nominated by their colleagues in recognition for outstanding contributions to medical and graduate education.

  • Deborah A. Finn, Ph.D., Professor, Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Marc V. Gosselin, M.D., Associate Professor, Diagnostic Radiology 

2013 Excellence in Teaching Awards – Graduate and M.D. Programs

Twelve faculty members were nominated and selected by students in recognition of their outstanding teaching. Allison Fryer, Ph.D., associate dean for graduate studies, called the graduate studies faculty "real superstars" while giving out their awards.

  • John Brigande, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Otalaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery
  • Virginia Brooks, Ph.D., Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology
  • Gary Ciment, Ph.D., Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Philip F. Copenhaver, Ph.D., Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology
  • Thomas DeLoughery, M.D., Professor, Medicine - Hematology and Medical Oncology
  • Ken Gatter, M.D., J.D., Associate Professor, Pathology
  • Melanie B. Gillingham, Ph.D., R.D., Assistant Professor, Molecular and Medical Genetics
  • David B. Jacoby, M.D., Professor, Medicine - Pulmonary and Critical Care
  • Atiya Mansoor, M.D., Associate Professor, Pathology - Anatomical Pathology
  • Andrey E. Ryabinin, Ph.D., Professor, Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Buddy Ullman, Ph.D., Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • John T. Williams, Ph.D., Adjunct Professor, Physiology and Pharmacology (Vollum Institute, Neuroscience Graduate Program)

"I'm honored and pleased to be here with all of these excellent teachers. They have all inspired us as well as our students," said Tracy Bumsted, M.D., MPH, associate dean for undergraduate education, as she introduced the M.D. program teaching award winners. "It's a great day for the educational mission at OHSU."

Teaching-Student-2013-026_Swanson-Bumsted-Schousen-webFour M.D. students were recognized. James E. Anstey, MS3, and Kevin S. Kolahi, MS3, were given the school's award for academic excellence. The Alpha Kappa Kappa Award, recognizing second-year medical students chosen by their peers for demonstrating the qualities of a true physician, went to Katy M. Schousen, MS2, and Dallas J. Swanson, MS2. "It's an amazing honor to be selected by my peers," said Swanson. "That is the most meaningful part: that the people I've worked with over the last few years have selected me as a representative of what it means to be a doctor."

Both course awards have gone to the same course over the last four years. The Outstanding MS1 Course Award went to Systems Processes and Homeostasis, directed this year by Dennis R. Koop, Ph.D., professor of physiology and pharmacology. The MS2 course award went to Circulation, directed over the last three years by Atiya Mansoor, M.D., associate professor of pathology.

Additional Reading

Pictured above: 2012-2013 Faculty Teaching Honors & Student Awardees (top) Marc Gosselin, M.D., and Deborah Finn, Ph.D.; (bottom) Dallas Swanson, MS2 and Katy Schousen MS2, with Tracy Bumsted, M.D., MPH.

More photos from the luncheon are posted on the School of Medicine Facebook page.