Dr. Ellison elected to the Association of American Physicians

The Dr. EllisonAssociation of American Physicians (AAP) has elected David Ellison, MD, Professor, Department of Medicine and Head, Division of Nephrology & Hypertension, to their professional organization.

The AAP is a nonprofit organization founded in 1885 for "the advancement of scientific and practical medicine." The Association is composed of about 1,200 active members and approximately 550 emeritus and honorary members from the United States, Canada and other countries. It is the oldest group of its kind in the United States.

Members have included Nobel laureates and members of the National Academy of Science and the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Ellison joins eight other OHSU physicians who are active members:   

  • Sharon Anderson, MD (2008)
  • Grover Bagby, MD (2003)
  • Richard Deyo, MD, MPH (2002)
  • Brian Druker, MD (2006)
  • Sanjiv Kaul, MD (2000)
  • David Lieberman, MD (2006)
  • James Rosenbaum, MD (2005)
  • Peter Rotwein, MD (1996)

"This is a singular honor, and I am especially awed to join the eight other physician/scientists, who are active members at OHSU," said Dr. Ellison. "The AAP is focused on the importance of constantly advancing scientific understanding and clinical practice, and that's exactly our goal in the Division of Nephrology & Hypertension."