Dr. Denman named as an APGO Scholar for 2014-15

Dr. DenmanSeptember 25, 2013

The Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) has named Mary Anna Denman, M.D., an assistant professor of obstetrics & gynecology, as an APGO Scholar for 2014-15.

In this role Dr. Denman will become steeped in the educational mission and join a cohort of future leaders in OB/Gyn for resident education. "I will be working on OBGYN resident surgical training and education," said Dr. Denman.

The APGO Academic Scholars and Leaders Program is an initiative of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO). Its purpose is to enhance education in obstetrics and gynecology by preparing ob-gyn physician faculty, through a rigorous 15-month curriculum, to possess the skills and knowledge necessary to be outstanding teachers and educational administrators. January 2014 marks the start of the seventeenth program year.

APGO represents academic obstetrician-gynecologists in the United States and Canada. It occupies a unique position in offering contemporary, applicable teaching tools for physician-educators, and learning mechanisms for faculty, students and residents, with the ultimate goal of providing optimum health care to women.

Dr. Denman's local mentor is Ben Hoffman, M.D., an associate professor of pediatrics.