Dr. Calonge elected to Institute of Medicine

Dr. Calonge Bruce (Ned) Calonge, MD, MPH, R ’84 is one 65 new members and five foreign associates elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM). Joe Gray, PhD, was also elected.

Election to the IOM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.  New members are elected by current active members through a highly selective process that recognizes individuals who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.

Dr. Calonge was the 2011 recipient of the Esther Pohl Lovejoy MD Leadership Award, presented May 5 at the School of Medicine Alumni Awards Banquet held at the Waverley Country Club. He is a 1984 graduate of the OHSU Family Medicine Residency Program, and served as the Chief Medical Officer of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. He has an exceptional record of national leadership in health affairs. Most noteworthy is his service as Chair of the US Preventive Services Task Force. Dr. Calonge currently serves as President and CEO of the Colorado Trust, a private grant-making foundation dedicated to advancing the health and well-being of the people of Colorado.