ARCS names eight new OHSU scholars in graduate studies program

arcsThe ARCS Foundation Portland has named eight new scholars in the OHSU Graduate Studies Program. This brings the cumulative support for OHSU graduate studies students to more than $1 million since its founding in 2005.

ARCS, which stands for Achievement Rewards for College Scientists, is an Oregon women’s group that supports and nurtures American women and men in doctoral programs at OHSU and Oregon State University to take on the science challenges of today and tomorrow. ARCS Foundation Portland currently has more than 100 members committed to making a difference in students’ lives and in the future of America. The goal is to provide financial assistance – and community recognition – to students who demonstrate high scholastic ability.

The ARCS Foundation Scholar Award is $18,000, payable over three years at $6,000 per year, with each award presented in October. Scholars are identified with the year of the following spring; the class of 2012 is the group of scholars who received their first $6,000 in October 2011.

On Sunday, Sept. 25, the ARCS group held their annual picnic to welcome new first-year scholars and to visit with the second- and third-year scholars. The scholars expressed their gratitude for the recognition from and connection to the Portland community. Photos from the picnic are loacted on our SoM facebook page, including a group shot of all the current ARCS scholars at OHSU.

The 2012 first year ARCS Scholars are Jeremy Glynn, Tyler Hulett, Amber Jones-Hackathorne, Paul Kramer, Kevin Murphy, Danielle Robinson, Garth Tormoen, and Christopher Vaaga. For photos and individual biographies, please visit the ARCS website.