Three medical students named 2012 Rubinstein Scholars

Rubinstein ScholarsLeonel Kahn, BS, Ruth White, PhD, and Joshua Walker, PhD, have been selected as the 4th annual Rubinstein Radiation Research Scholar for 2012. They are entering into their fourth year of medical school.

The Rubinstein Radiation Research Scholarship provides funding for research career development of the next generation of academic radiation oncology investigators, consistent with the discovery missions of OHSU.  This program is made possible by the generous philanthropic support of Deanne and Dick Rubinstein. 

"All three of these students are academically exceptional," said Charles Thomas, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiation Medicine. "They have shown a commitment to scientific research."

Lee Kahn is currently the leader of the Radiation Medicine Student Interest Group and is actively involved in clinical research projects involving IGRT for prostate cancer and also I-125 plaque brachytherapy for ocular tumors. 

Dr. White recently defended her doctoral thesis and is doing cutting-edge pre-clinical research on tumor-initiating cell therapeutics for head & neck cancer. 

Dr. Walker, enrolled in the Medical Scientist Training Program (MD-PhD), is conducting novel research that bridges tumor immunology and SBRT based on preclinical models which are being developed into a translational research-theme prospective clinical trial. 

These Rubinstein Research Scholars are also recipients of 2012 RSNA Research Medical Student grants

Pictured (from left): Peter O. Kohler, OHSU president emeritus, Dr. Walker, Leonel Kahn, Dr. White and Dr. Thomas