Congratulations! 74 faculty members promoted this year

November 15, 2013

P-T reception 026Dean’s Reception honors achievement, encourages mentorship 

Dean Richardson and invited guests assembled at the Dean’s Annual Promotion & Tenure Reception to honor 74 newly promoted faculty members. Seventeen of the school’s 27 departments promoted members of the faculty this year.

The reception kicked off with remarks from Robert Shangraw, M.D., professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine and chair of the school’s promotion and tenure committee. Dr. Shangraw emphasized the importance of giving back to junior faculty members through mentorship in their careers.

Dean Richardson welcomed the group and echoed the theme of giving back. He also noted the value of celebrating success together. “I hope that you will remember not only the year in which you received this honor, but who received it with you,” he said.

After listing information about the number of faculty members promoted across various ranks and departments, Dean Richardson invited faculty members and others to share their perspectives on being promoted.

“The most important reason for my success is my colleagues. It’s a great group of people,” said Katie Bensching, M.D., clinical associate professor of medicine. “And now, I’ve decided that I’m cured of my self-diagnosis of the imposter syndrome.”

“It’s really exciting to be promoted because you work really hard and it’s very nice to have that recognized,” said Suzanne Mitchell, Ph.D., professor of behavioral neuroscience. “I’d like to take a moment to recognize the process we have in behavioral neuroscience … it really keeps people on track, and helps identify what values are important to this institution.”

“I have enjoyed the collegial and collaborative environment at OHSU and its strong institutional support for interdisciplinary and collaborative research opportunities,” said Dongseok Choi, Ph.D., professor of public health and preventive medicine. “I am grateful to have had support from various units and many people over the years. It is an honor to have an opportunity to thank them.” 

A list of the 2013 faculty honorees is on the EdNews blog (OHSU login required). Congratulations all!


P-T reception 018    P-T reception 024

P-T reception 056    P-T reception 041