Future of science awaits newest ARCS scholars


The Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation – Portland Chapter celebrated the graduation of 12 PhD candidates from its program at a Celebrate the Scholar reception May 16. The group of OHSU and Oregon State University graduate students is completing their third and final year as ARCS scholars and now joins 46 other alumni of the program. Each scholar receives $18,000 over three years.

"Beyond our financial support, we take a very personal interest in you. We enjoy learning about your work, your challenges and your successes," said Caron Ogg, President of ARCS Foundation – Portland Chapter. "We really cherish our friendship with all of you and want to follow your careers. We know each of you will be very successful."

The nine OHSU ARCS scholars are Amanda Barkley-Levenson, Theodore Braun, Anita Cservenka, Tiffany DeVine, Ravi Iyer, Abby Rynko, Karen Thiebes, Shane Tillo and Karen Tonsfeldt. They were joined by three ARCS scholars from Oregon State University – Chris HolmesParker, Sean Smith and Eric Walkingshaw.

ARCS Foundation – Portland Chapter funded 13 new scholars this year, and, as announced during the reception, will fund 19 scholars next year. In under eight years, the total financial support for ARCS Foundation – Portland Chapter scholars has topped $1.4 million.

Learn more about all the current ARCS scholars on the ARCS Foundation – Portland Chapter website.


Pictured (l to r): Shane Tillo, Ravi Iyer, Abby Rynko, Tiffany DeVine, Eric Walkingshaw, Anita Cservenka, Karen Tonsfeldt, Karen Thiebes, Sean Smith, Chris HolmesParker