ARCS names 9 new OHSU scholars in graduate studies program


ARCS (Achievement Rewards for College Scientists) Foundation Portland has named nine new scholars in the OHSU Graduate Studies Program. This brings the cumulative support for OHSU graduate studies students to 81 students and more than $1.25 million since the founding of the Portland Chapter in 2005.

ARCS Foundation is a national women's group that supports and nurtures American women and men in doctoral programs. The Portland chapter supports students at OHSU and Oregon State University to take on the science challenges of today and tomorrow. In addition to OHSU's nine scholars, ARCS gave awards to 10 students from Oregon State University.

Recipients of these highly sought-after awards have gone on to conduct significant breakthrough research in fields of science and technology; found companies; receive patents; publish extensively in major science journals; and receive national or international science-based awards. 

The ARCS Foundation Scholar Award is $18,000, payable over three years at $6,000 per year, with each award presented in October. Scholars are identified with the year of the following spring; the class of 2013 is the group of scholars who received their first $6,000 in October 2012.

"With funding for research and education becoming increasingly competitive, these awards play a crucial role supporting students in their pursuit of careers in science, as well as helping for OHSU to attract some of the brightest scientific minds," said Allison Fryer, Ph.D., associate dean for graduate studies and professor of medicine.

On Sept. 23, the ARCS group held their annual picnic to welcome new first-year scholars and to visit with the second- and third-year scholars. The scholars expressed their gratitude for the recognition from and connection to the Portland community.

"The women of the Portland ARCS Chapter were the first people I met when I moved to Portland for graduate school," said Allison Anacker, Ph.D. candidate in behavioral neuroscience. "In addition to the much-appreciated financial support they provide, I have enjoyed their enduring moral support over the last five years and look forward to seeing many of their friendly faces at my dissertation defense seminar next month."

The 2013 first year ARCS Scholars from OHSU are: David Edwards, Brian Jones, Wai Yan Lam, Glynis Brown Mattheisen, Rory Morgan, Ben Rakela, Laura Springgay, Kevin Watanabe-Smith, and Lillian Welch. For photos, a description of research focus, and a listing of donors, please visit the ARCS website.



On Nov. 5, ARCS Foundation Portland will honor the ARCS scholars at OHSU and Oregon State University with a Scholars Award Luncheon. Kent Thornburg, Ph.D., professor of medicine and interim director of the Moore Institute for Nutrition & Wellness, will give the keynote address. Learn more...