The envelope please… announcing the 2012 School of Medicine Alumni Association Award Winners

With the Academy Awards now over, it's time to roll out the red carpet for OHSU School of Medicine Alumni Association award winners.

Each year since 1983, the School of Medicine Alumni Association has honored individuals who have distinguished themselves by achieving excellence in their professions in keeping with the school's ideals and aspirations. These individuals are making a difference in educational, clinical, research and public policy arenas throughout the world.

Join us as we fete this year's recipients of the School of Medicine's highest honors and celebrate the contributions of volunteer faculty members at the School of Medicine Alumni Association Awards Banquet. The event will take place on May 11 at 6 p.m. at the Governor Hotel in Portland. Register here. Questions? Contact us at


Dean's Award

This award is given by the Dean of the School of Medicine in recognition of an individual who has shown commitment to the School of Medicine through their volunteerism, teaching and/or philanthropic support.

Dr. Reuler

2012 Recipient: James B. Reuler, M.D., M.A.C.P

Dr. Reuler, Professor of Medicine, has been on the School of Medicine faculty for 35 years. Dr. Reuler founded The Wallace Medical Concern, which provides free health care to the homeless and other underserved populations in Portland through several community clinics located in downtown Portland and Gresham. Wallace Medical Concern's 300-plus volunteers – many of whom are School of Medicine faculty, staff and students – served over 4,000 patients last year, and they expect to serve 6,000 by the end of this year.


Richard T. Jones, M.D., Ph.D. Distinguished Alumni Scientist Award

Established in 2001, this award honors an alumnus/a from the School of Medicine's Masters or Doctorate of Philosophy Degree programs who displays continued research excellence, service to the scientific community and contributions to basic science education.

Dr. Sack2012 Recipient: R. Bradley Sack, M.D., M.S. '60, Sc.D.

Dr. Brad Sack is a Professor in the Department of International Health in the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health and a worldwide expert in acute infectious diarrheal diseases. He played a key role in the development of oral rehydration therapy (ORT), which has become the standard treatment for diarrhea and dehydration.


Esther Pohl Lovejoy, M.D. Leadership Award

Established in 2008, this award honors Esther Pohl Lovejoy, M.D., an 1894 graduate of the School of Medicine who helped establish several international medical organizations. The award honors a School of Medicine graduate who demonstrates exceptional leadership and service to the medical profession on a national or international level.
  Dr. Sack

2012 Recipient: David A. Sack, M.D. '68

Dr. David Sack is a Professor in the Department of International Health at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health. From October 1999 until June 2007, he was the Executive Director of the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh, for which he received the Bill and Melinda Gates Award for Global Health in 2001.


Charles A. Preuss Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

Named in honor of Charles A. Preuss, M.D. '29, this award was established in 1983, and honors any School of Medicine alumnus/a who, in professional achievement and service to their communities, reflect the highest ideals of the School of Medicine.

Dr. Drake2012 Recipient: Richard Drake, M.D. '59

Dr. Drakeco-invented the Drake Willock Dialysis machine, the first portable, home-dialysis machine of its kind. The machine revolutionized dialysis care, allowing patients to monitor and implement their own treatment schedule at home. The invention brought freedom to acute renal-failure patients worldwide. Dr. Drake's Portland-based company, DWS, Inc. employed 250 employees before it was sold in the 1970s.


Volunteer Faculty Recognition Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions by volunteer (clinical) faculty in the School of Medicine.

2012 Nominees: Henry Casson, M.D. '98, Thomas Hoggard, M.D. '72, Michael Knower, M.D. '85, Donald Austin, M.D. '65, Jonathan Alexander, M.D.


Stay tuned for more information on these distinguished members of the School of Medicine community. Also honored at the banquet will be the winners of the Resident and Post-Doctoral Paper Competitions.