Awards Given

Student Awards

Academy of Dental Materials Student Awards

Each spring, the members of the Academy of Dental Materials at various Dental Schools around the world present awards to the most outstanding students or student researchers in the field of Dental Materials. The award consists of an engraved plaque. For more information, go to the Academy website at

2018  Jason Mah
2017  Lindsey Yap
2016  Jonathan Yih
2015  Shawn Platt
2014  Denise C. Gates
2013  Kyle Andrew Malloy
2012  Stephen George
2011  Sheeva Azimi
2010  Laura Rickert
2009  Alan Chen
2008  John Delplanche

Academy of Operative Dentistry Student Award

The Academy sponsors an award each year to the student in each U.S. and Canadian dental school who has been voted as having provided the most outstanding restorative care to his or her patients. The award consists of a certificate and a year's subscription to the journal "Operative Dentistry". The award is usually presented at each school's annual awards ceremony in late spring.

2018  Sophie Diepenheim
2017  James Means
2016  Caroline DeVincenzi
2015  Raymond Reeves
2014  Melissa Faber
2013  Kyle Andrew Malloy
2012  Michael Blindheim
2011  Philip Getsinger
2010  Cynthia Lehnertz
2009  Annalisa Taylor
2008  Aaron Boren

American College of Prosthodontics

The American College of Prosthodontics recognizes one graduating student from each CODA Accredited Dental School for their annual Prosthodontic Achievement Award.

2018  Sara Edmondson
2017  Michael Tichy
2016  Leila Sears
2015  Shawn Platt
2014  Brian Bollwitt
2013  Aaron Jay Omura

Pacific Coast Society of Prosthodontics – Fred E. Gulick Memorial Award

The Pacific Coast Society for Prosthodontics promotes the science, art and practice of Prosthodontics.

2012  Evan Kania
2011  Philip Getsinger
2010  Jason Walker
2009  Matthew Moen
2008  Andrew Wappett
2007  Stephen Hansen
2006  Aaron Tinkle

Academy of Osseointegration Implant Dentistry

The Academy of Osseointegration presents its annual Outstanding Student in Implant Dentistry Award to support and expand students' interests, education and research in dental implants.

2018  Fadi Shaya
2017  Stephen Reller
2016  Alexander Sonesson
2015  Gregary Boehme
2014  Quinn Martin
2013  Kyle Andrew Malloy
2012  Todd Groesbeck
2011  Philip Getsinger
2010  Paul Clark
2009  Benjamin Driver

American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry

The American Academy of Esthetic Dentistry extends their award to the dental student who has demonstrated the most clinical proficiency and greatest interest in esthetic dentistry. The award includes a handsome certificate and a one-year subscription to The Journal of Esthetic and Restorative Dentistry.

2018  Noelle George
2017  Michelle Crabtree
2016  Leila Sears
2015  Audrey Mikkelson
2014  Jason Greyslak
2013  Daniel Michael Walsh
2012  Jason Schultz
2011  Fatbardhe Krasniqi
2010  Aron Geelan
2009  James Bond
2008  Connor Thompson

American Academy of Implant Dentistry

Each year, the American Academy of Implant Dentistry presents their award to the dental student who demonstrates the most interest, academically and clinically, in implant dentistry.

2018  Kellie Kawasaki
2017  Sadaf Assadi
2016  Jonathan Yih
2015  Minh Phan
2014  Craig Wright
2013  Rachel Shear
2012  April Walsh
2011  Scott Dougherty
2010  Christian Hanson
2009  Luke Barsalou
2008  Ian Tydeman

Hanau Best of the Best Prosthodontic Award

Each dental school is given an opportunity to nominate a student that has shown excellence in both clinical applications and academic performance. Each of the nominees receives a Hanau™ Wide-Vue Articulator in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments. Out of these nominees, Whip Mix evaluates the entries and selects one student as the grand prize winner who receives an all expense paid trip to the Dawson Academy seminar.

2018  Phillip La Lande
2017  Jonathan Morgan
2016  Soroush Amali
2015  Owen Trinh
2014  Dylan Sorber
2013  John H. Koski
2012  Ian Brawner
2011  Joseph Jarman
2010  Cynthia Lehnertz
2009  Matthew Moen

Quintessence Award for Clinical Achievement in Restorative Dentistry   

Award recipients receive a Certificate of Merit and a one-year subscription to Quintessence International.

2018  Sara Edmondson
2017  Anna Gerlach
2016  Estrellita Ramirez
2015  Mary Hoffman
2014  Traci Saito
2013  Aaron Jay Omura
2012  Ian Brawner
2011  Isaac Edwards
2010  Jacob Christensen
2009  Afine/Vnguyen
2008  Jared Ward